[Q] Motorola Q - Does or does not have GPS?

Discussion in 'Motorola Q' started by srivard99, Apr 7, 2008.

  1. srivard99

    srivard99 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Q] Motorola Q - Does or does not have GPS?

    I would like to use my Q (it the Q1) as a GPS unit but I'm confused as to whether or not it actually has built in GPS. From what I've been reading, there is definitely GPS for 911 but what about GPS for travelling? If I installed turn-by-turn software, would it work with the Q or do I need to purchase a receiver as well?

    I was looking at the Garmin solution found here (http://www8.garmin.com/mobile/smartphones/) since my wife would also be able to use it with her Palm Treo 700p but when I look at the text beneath both options (in the Popular Phone paragraph), both list the Motorola Q.

    So, do I or don't I need to buy a receiver?

    Also, if anyone has used this Garmin software, what are your thoughts?

    Thanks!
  2. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    it does not have a GPS receiver
    you need to buy one
  3. srivard99

    srivard99 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Perfect. Nice and straightforward.
    Thanks Scott.
  4. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    no problemo!!
  5. larsdennert

    larsdennert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    Look in the Bluetooth forum. The Freedom GPS2000 is really good. If you don't need very accurate navigation you can install www.navizon.com which is free and does cell tower triangulation without a gps unit.

    The AT&T Q has a built in real gps. I think one of the Sprint ones does too. vzw, no way.

Share This Page