[Q]: How can I download a cab file from a web page?

Discussion in 'Motorola Q' started by srivard99, Mar 17, 2008.

  1. srivard99

    srivard99 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Q]: How can I download a cab file from a web page?

    Perhaps this was already answered elsewhere but my search has not provided any results. So here goes.

    If I find a *.cab file on a web site and I would like to download onto my Q in order to install, how do I do that? Currently, clicking on the *.cab file only results in a) a bunch of text showing up on the screen or b) opening up a web page to where the *.cab file is located. Since there is no right-click/save option, how can I go about saving the *.cab file onto my phone?

    Thanks!
  2. rainmakerrc

    rainmakerrc New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,612
    Likes Received:
    0
    You need to get FEADIE. It will allow you to register certain file extensions in PIE so that you can download .cab files. I have a copy of the .cab file on my apps page.
  3. srivard99

    srivard99 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks rainmakerrc, I'm taking a look at your apps page now.
  4. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    actually if you get jumbled text it means the web servers MIME settings are incorrect
    and FEADIE probably wont help you
    you can download cab files without problems if the person or server hosting the file is setup correctly for mobile downloads
  5. rainmakerrc

    rainmakerrc New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Really? I tried FEADIE for the first time when I was unable to download a .cab file, and when I tried the download again after installing, it worked . . . Maybe just a hiccup on my end or the website's?
  6. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    i download cab files all the time from the Q before FEADIE so i know its possible
    but the jumbled text wont change with FEADIE (almost positive)
  7. rainmakerrc

    rainmakerrc New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I'm sure you're right. I'm sure I downloaded a .cab here and there before I installed FEADIE. Just wondering why it made a difference that one time I had the same issue as the OP.
  8. srivard99

    srivard99 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think n99hockey is correct since I was actually able to download the cab file for Feadie from your site (implying that this worked without having Feadie installed)

    But Feadie is telling me it requires a newer version of .NET than what I currently have running. I'll try and update that and then give Feadie a try once again and see if it will work with the other site.

    What I'm trying to download is this is a viewer for ebooks found here:
    http://www.plkr.org/download/windows

    or directly to the cab file:
    http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/vade-mecum/VadeMecum-ARM-0.6.3.CAB
  9. rainmakerrc

    rainmakerrc New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,612
    Likes Received:
    0

    Oh, I'm sure Scott is right (sorry for the erroneous info). I went ahead and downloaded the .cab you were trying to download on my PC and uploaded to where my other apps files are. See if you can download it from your Q.

    http://rainmakerrc.googlepages.com/VadeMecum-ARM-0.6.3.CAB
  10. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    if you want newest .net framework i have it on my app site
    www.scottschrob.com/q/apps.htm
  11. srivard99

    srivard99 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was able to download from your site, unfortunately it failed when trying to install. Perhaps this is software that isn't quite compatible with the Q. Thanks for the effort.

Share This Page