Putting songs on your memory card and using them as ring tones.

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9m' started by Hbomb90, Sep 19, 2007.

  1. Hbomb90

    Hbomb90 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Putting songs on your memory card and using them as ring tones.

    Hello,
    I have been looking for a new phone for a little while, and I stumbled on the Moto Q9m today. I had a question though. Can I load songs that are already on my computer on to the Q9M's miniSD card and use them as ring tones?
  2. DslLmi

    DslLmi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes... Also There are programs that you can cut out a sound byte and use those as well.
  3. Hbomb90

    Hbomb90 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you very much. I am pretty much sold on this phone. I am currently on Sprint, so the only thing that's holding me back from running out and getting this phone tomorrow is the fact that I want to retain my number.
  4. DslLmi

    DslLmi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thats no prob.... you can port your number over... I did it in Jan it took all of 10 min to do. I love my Q 9m
  5. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    when you put them on the SD card you have to keep them in your root diretory and CAN NOT be sorted in folders...(without registry hacks)

    as far as song editing software check out audacity

    -Sent from my Q
  6. raspringer

    raspringer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    But how do you use the songs from the sd card as ringtones without using up the internal memory. I tried to use two songs and it killed my memory. Thanks
  7. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    if they are on the SD card just go to where you want to select you ring tone (profiles or contacts) and they will show up

    -Sent from my Q
  8. raspringer

    raspringer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried that and all I see are the standard ringtones that came with the phone.
  9. DrQ

    DrQ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are they in your root directory? ie. top folder w/no name on your storage card.
  10. raspringer

    raspringer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    They are listed on my storage card under the folder "music". I tried copying the song that I wanted to the sounds folder and that didn't work. When I first tried it a couple weeks ago it work and now it doesn't.
  11. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    no i told you it cant be in any folders on the sd card

    -Sent from my Q
  12. TreeFrog

    TreeFrog Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    Like this....

    Attached Files:

  13. raspringer

    raspringer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so how do I get the songs out of the music folder. I don't recall creating that folder. I think when I did a sync with Windows Media Player it automatically sync to that folder.
  14. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    just use the file manager and move them

    -Sent from my Q
  15. Budda

    Budda New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you provide an example or two of those types of programs. One on a MAC platform is preferable...
  16. DrQ

    DrQ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't help on the MAC but on the pc Audacity and MPTrim are 2.

Share This Page