Push Gmail

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9c' started by dafoxs, Jul 15, 2008.

  1. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Push Gmail

    It only took 5 months to set up my gmail account. I have it set on manual. I am getting email "PUSHED" to that account. I want that anyway. Is this something gmail starting doing? I have no Push aps installed.
  2. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dunno, I don't get emails on my gmail often enough to notice
  3. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am getting them pushed using PushEffect... you say if i turn that off it should still be "pushed" ?
  4. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    It appears to be. I set an email to my gmail account and it popped up in seconds, sometimes a little longer.
  5. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    I sent one from my pc and BAM it hit my phone in 4 seconds.
  6. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    turn off PE for 1 Gmail account, emailed myself about 10 minutes ago.... :whistling ..nothing yet.
  7. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know gmail has a forwarding option on the web. I don't have it set to archive. doesn't PE send it to your phone as a text? I get regular html emails. I set up 2 gmails now and the same thing happens.
  8. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    PE sends a txt which "instructs" tmail to poll for mail..

    potQ9c
  9. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    try recycling the phone with PI desabled somehow so it doent start up. I had all my pop accounts forwarded to gmail...BAM... they popped up. I swear I have no push aps and it is on manual.
  10. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    I sent an email from yahoo on my computer with the email account showing on the phone. the icon bar never changed and the mail came throiugh.
  11. Rev. Voodoo

    Rev. Voodoo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    not happenin on mine...
  12. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    *light bulb went on*
    You have to have a regular gmail account set up on your phone, not the ones the push aps set up for you. on a pc, go to gmail/settings, have the mail forwarded to your phones email address (xxxxxxx@messaging.sprintpcs.com or what ever it is for your phone). Do not archive the mail. Set the gmail account on your phone to manually check. It works for me. Test it buy sending an email to your phones email from the gmail account. If this doesn't work for you, I have no idea why it works for me.

  13. yeah but it only sends a small sample of the email because you are getting an sms not a true email, no?
  14. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    exactly what i was thinking....
  15. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    I get the entire message. I set up my phone account to download entire message.
  16. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have a "regular" Gmail account on the Q, PE does NOT create those..
  17. bacchus23

    bacchus23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    you do not need PE to get your emails pushed to your phone. if you have a data plan all you have to do is open MESSAGING from your programs menu and create a new account using you gmail email address. let windows mobile automatically set up the account settings. you can choose to have the entire message downloaded from the server in html. you can also set up how frequently it checks for new mail. just follow all the onscreen prompts and you are good to go.

    i also have my comcast and yahoo mail set up the same way and i get all my mail pushed to my phone. i use sprint but that shouldnt matter.
  18. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    those 2 statements contradict each other.... you do know what "push" means ?
  19. First, if you have gmail do settings automatically, its using pop3 and not imap.
    Something doesn't seem right that you are getting pushed emails.
    yes you can set the size of the mail, but if found a way then you can become a very rich man.
  20. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    i wonder if he/she fully understands what "push" mail means..

Share This Page