Post Your Desktop!

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Vazguard, Sep 25, 2008.

  1. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haha yea. It's the first thing I check!
  2. firecracker37

    firecracker37 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just redid mine. Pic is of my new DK stanking in Hellfire :) Got her little ghoul buddy with her too.

    I'm using ObjectDock, couldn't get RocketDock to download properly :( Looking into designing some custom icons and whatnot for it so that I can make a whole World of Warcraft theme.

    Attached Files:

    • SS.jpg
      SS.jpg
      File size:
      96.7 KB
      Views:
      82
  3. brandon.roeder

    brandon.roeder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    New Desktop. :

    [​IMG]

    I like it :)
  4. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice. That's quite a big dock right there!

    I'll have mine up soon; dial-up here isn't working right with Photobucket.
  5. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok here it is:
    The dock is normally hidden above but I have it down to show it.

    [​IMG]
  6. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. Ch0ppy35

    Ch0ppy35 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    How..?

    How do you guys make your desktops look so cool? Here's my basic one.

    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
  8. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    A few programs on my screen to start you off:

    Rainmeter
    Objectdock
    CD Art Display
    msstyles - either look for XP ones or check out Windowblinds
  9. Ch0ppy35

    Ch0ppy35 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0

    Would that be the big theme changer?
  10. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    msstyles aren't part of any program - they're actual themes for your computer, just like the default XP theme. But in order to get them to work right, you'll need a program like TuneUp Utilities or StyleSelector.
  11. Ch0ppy35

    Ch0ppy35 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0

    Do those progs eat up alot of memory(ram)?
  12. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not really. Right now CAD is using 2244k, OD is using 14972k, and RM is using 3696k. Like I said before, msstyles are not part of any program, so they run as a part of Windows. The programs I mentioned before only apply them. You can then quit out of the program, and only open it up again when you want to change the style.
  13. Ch0ppy35

    Ch0ppy35 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, so get a copy of StyleSelector then run it. Then just get one of those themes from that site?
  14. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    deviantart has a lot of msstyles, and if I remember correctly, WinCustomize.com has a library of them too.

    On DA, check out invaderjohn's stuff. I'm using one of his right now. I'd say he is one of the best - if not the best - msstyle maker on there.
  15. Ch0ppy35

    Ch0ppy35 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    I downloaded one of those themes, but I can't get it to work =/ I couldn't find any of those prgos you said to use first
  16. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    I threw StyleSelector up on my Drop. Hit the link in my sig. Once you extract the program, put the style's folder in the "styles" folder in SS's folder. You should be able to select it then.
  17. Ch0ppy35

    Ch0ppy35 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0

    Wont work for me....Says Vista 32 bit only
  18. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, that's what I use. Then you might be on your own for application. Search around - I'm sure there are plenty of ways to apply them for XP.
  19. Ch0ppy35

    Ch0ppy35 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Meh, I can't find anything to do it..I give up
  20. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check out Windowblinds. You have to leave it running but it's a decent app. I don't remember if they have a free version or not.

    viaQ9c

Share This Page