Please Help, Q9h 3g and internet incredibly slow..

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9h' started by mkvgti, Jul 5, 2008.

  1. RJNJC

    RJNJC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    FWIW:
    I am in a strong 3G band area.
    My speedtest results from: http://dslreports.com/mspeed, tested today, are:

    1st attempt
    Size: 1MB
    Speed: 659kbit/sec
    0.305s latency
    12.732s d/l time

    2nd attempt
    Size: 1MB
    Speed: 632kbit/sec
    0.579s latency
    13.528s d/l time

    3rd attempt
    Size: 1MB
    Speed: 621kbit/sec
    0.388s latency
    13.542s d/l time


    Is this good? bad? ugly?


    :2cool:
  2. mexiken

    mexiken New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Those are DSL speeds. DSL speeds are considered broadband, so yeah, I'd say they're good. Bear in mind your phone is in the end, a radio. It communicates through towers over the air. I have a 3.0 Mbps line for DSL here at home, and while my speeds are faster, there not that much more great.

    Some people have stated that because the lines are built and rated at 3.2 Mbps, they should achieve something around there. And in reality, it just doesn't quite work that way. Also, you should bear in mind, the connection is wireless. And in all of my experiences, being connected straight to a modem blows away a wireless connection to the same modem. It just logistics. So be happy. I am. Do I want it to be faster ???? Yeah. Do I need it to be faster ???? No. But some people don't see the value in being mobile, in getting DSL speeds on your phone, wherever you have 3G coverage. They feel like the fastest mobile network in the nation should be faster.

    Don't be fooled by previous posts just because people are complaining. You won't find ANY other provider, except maybe VZ on a Rev.A phone AND Rev. A integrated network, that comes even close to that speed. As far as wireless phones go, you can't go faster.
  3. RJNJC

    RJNJC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0

    Happy: I am.
    Do I want it faster: Yes
    Do I NEED it faster: No

    I tested and posted my speeds just to get a comparison and of course, at the back of it all, to see how close I am to the 'promised' speeds - all relative I know, but gives a good basis. Also it may also serve as a geographical spread comparison for those who want to know.

    You won't find me complaining about the speeds!

    Thanks for your input.

    :2cool:
  4. mexiken

    mexiken New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Glad to be of help :smile:
  5. RedScare

    RedScare New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    For what it's worth, I tested my Q using both Opera and IE. IE came in consistently over 700k, and Opera rarely hit 600k.
  6. kareljack

    kareljack Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077
    Likes Received:
    15
    You're damn skippy I want it to be faster :-p
    Faster speeds result in a better experience with streaming video
  7. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    Of course I want it to be faster. I am on att and paying a premium for 3g, but I'm getting EvDO speeds. If I knew that, then I would have went with Sprint, because their rates are a lot cheaper. I'm paying extra specifically for faster speeds. But I forsee my speed faster in the future, because it is apparent from seeing the different results, that att has not yet completed it's 3g upgrade. So I will be patient.
  8. mexiken

    mexiken New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Most of the streamers I've watched all played fine with 3G speeds at 700K, I see no real need for anything more, at least not when it comes to videos. They're either usually encoded at 300K, or 600K at most major sites, on PC's. The 3.2 rated HSDPA protocol connection can handle this. And the bit rate is compressed further for mobile specific content.
  9. kareljack

    kareljack Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077
    Likes Received:
    15
    If you recall in th eother thread that 3g speeds was discussed, I am only getting about 300-400k down. So streaming video is not a very satisfactory experience for me.
    If my issue resolves itself and I am back to 600-700k then there will be some semblance of satisfaction, but like ninjaap said we are paying a premium here.
  10. kareljack

    kareljack Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077
    Likes Received:
    15
    Geez.. I am brain dead today.. I meant earlier in this discussion, not a seperate post all together.
  11. southwest2118

    southwest2118 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    2023 kbit/sec
    0.101s latency
    4.136s d/l time.






    too bad its my home computer with cable....wait...thats sad:frown:


    and q9h from the DFW with opera
    Size: 1MB
    Speed: 292kbit/sec
    3.966s latency
    28.575s d/l time


    somethings not right ...if i do it back to back i get different results ..

    in IE

    Size: 1MB
    Speed: 622kbit/sec
    0.395s latency
    13.564s d/l time


    but the first time was like 192kbits per second ?

    soo my final conclsion is that these tests are not accurate.
  12. RJNJC

    RJNJC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which is why it is always a good idea to get a set of results (minimum 3) within a same set of parameters and get a trend.

    Speedtests vary on a lot of factors: time of day, distance from server, location etc etc...and should be used only to get an idea or indication and not be treated as gospel.


    :2cool:
  13. southwest2118

    southwest2118 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. mexiken

    mexiken New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,725
    Likes Received:
    0
    You know what, you're right. For some reason, I thought you were getting the same speeds as me.

    Yeah, thats a bit of a drag. You should call and ask why the slow speeds. Can't hurt. Tell them you have friends that get much faster speeds with this phone. What could it hurt ????
  15. hello

    hello New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    when i did it, i saw: "Signalling Error" and nothing happened :(
    maybe because i don't have any 3G connections ?
  16. mexiken

    mexiken New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try this:

    Go into your Windows directory, look for bandselect.exe, and make a shortcut to your start menu. Thats the app with the UI interface itself. Enjoy.
  17. hello

    hello New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes it works!!!
    default value is "automatic", i choose: GSM
  18. mexiken

    mexiken New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good deal. Glad it worked. And thanks for the thanks :smile:
  19. No Remorse

    No Remorse New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    after 6.1 update saw an average of 600 to 800 kbits/sec. latency down to .500 to 1.5 sec. might just be me but if you havent done it give it a shot !
  20. mr2spyderfreak13

    mr2spyderfreak13 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    wm 6.1 por favor

    heyy my dud ei realized you got WM 6.1 on your Q9h. where did you get it??can i ge tthe link????

Share This Page