Phone Vibrates All The Time - Why

Discussion in 'Motorola Q' started by LeeGero, Nov 19, 2007.

  1. LeeGero

    LeeGero New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Phone Vibrates All The Time - Why

    I am now on my 2nd Moto Q. And I am suffering the same problems that I was with the first one..

    Which is...my phone, for reasons unknown, tends to light up and vibrate on its own. It's the same kind of alert I get when I get a new text or email or voicemail. But, the problem is, none of these happen.

    I have unread message alerts off. I will spare you listing all of my other settings, but I have spoken to many a rep at Motorola and Sprint and made sure other settings are where they need to be....yet still, this happens.

    The only thing I can think of is this...I notice that when this does happen, it happens mostly at work, where I receive a rather inconsistent, weak signal. I also notice my signal bars change when this happens, and I often see one of two (or both) logos appear: one that says 1X and the other looks like a computer monitor with a keyboard. So maybe it is associated with the signal I am getting or the network I am using?

    Any suggestions would be much appreciated, b/c I am about to give up on this phone.

    Thanks:)
  2. braxtoq

    braxtoq New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check "settings" "More" "More" "Phone Settings" "Alerts" and make sure all are set to "Off"
  3. LeeGero

    LeeGero New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you for the reply.

    however, they are set to off.
  4. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    i think you might have posted the reason in your question
    because you might be going from roaming to not roaming or from 1x to EVDO its doing this...(it would make a sound if you phone wasnt on the vibrate profile)

    seems to only do it at work which is why i say that
  5. LeeGero

    LeeGero New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you for the thank you tip. you will be officially thanked when i am done typing this, i promise:)

    i am a newbie obviously.

    sounds you like you describe exactly what is happening. here's the thing. this happens when i am mostly on "meeting" mode, which is essentially vibrate mode for me.

    so, the question is, how do i turn off this alert?
  6. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    your welcome!

    i dont know (or even if you can) its just telling you that you are switching modes....
    if i were you i might plug around in the settings area (start -- settings) and see if you see anything
    or perhaps someone will chime in if there happens to a definate way

    (thanks for the thanks:tounge:)
  7. LeeGero

    LeeGero New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow, i hope someone does chime in because this drives me nuts and drains my battery. thanks!
  8. Plowboy67

    Plowboy67 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same thing here!

    My Q does the same thing. Switches between networks and either vibrates or beeps depending on the profile setting. Very annoying but regardless I love it.
  9. LeeGero

    LeeGero New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I love it otherwise, but let's face it, if it does that and drains the battery, it is annoying.
  10. Plowboy67

    Plowboy67 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very Strange

    I was just watching it switch between 1x and EV and it didn't beep or vibrate at all.

    I think I would go into your power management settings LeeGreo and mess around with those. That could be the cause of your power draining.

    IMO, you would think your backlight/display settings drain more power as opposed to a small vibrate or beep.

    Just my 2 cents.
  11. Silent Assassin

    Silent Assassin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    What browser are you using??

    I know some ppl who were using Opera Mobile browser, and it would vibrate CONSTANTLY, putting their battery life to shame...
  12. piranah

    piranah New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,176
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. Plowboy67

    Plowboy67 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    ERI alert

    On my phone there is no ERI alert. Probably because I'm on Alltel not Verizon. Thanks anyway though
  14. LeeGero

    LeeGero New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page