Pandora on my Moto Q9c

Discussion in 'Windows Phone Software' started by craiggiarc, Dec 9, 2008.

  1. craiggiarc

    craiggiarc Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pandora on my Moto Q9c



    So there has been much discussion about Pandora on Windows Mobile so I thought I'd upload a video of it here for you all to see. Pretty please with the result despite no sound, may redo it with sound later, or make some other video reviews of other software that I have!

    Anyway, enjoy!

    Craig
  2. Peregrine

    Peregrine Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    0
    Listening to Pandora on my Q as we speak.


    w00t.
  3. craiggiarc

    craiggiarc Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just an FYI for anyone that's interested I created the video by connecting my Q to my laptop using MyMobiler and then recording the actions using Camtasia.

    The MyMobiler official site appears to be down but the app can still be downloaded from the link above. As for Camtasia it's a little pricey and there are probably free alternatives around.

    Craig
  4. cjpederson

    cjpederson New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just went to www.pandora.com on my Q9c (WM 6.1), and I get a screen saying "Sorry, Pandora does not support your device."

    Any thoughts as to why??
  5. craiggiarc

    craiggiarc Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you navigating through PIE?
  6. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. cjpederson

    cjpederson New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Excuse my lack of knowledge, but what exactly is PIE? I was using Internet Explorer that came with WM 6.1.
  8. Peregrine

    Peregrine Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pocket Internet Explorer
  9. cjpederson

    cjpederson New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. Peregrine

    Peregrine Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. cjpederson

    cjpederson New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Weird... and yet I still get "Pandora does not support your device".
  12. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    odd indeed, works fine on my Q9c.. (before i uninstalled it since well, not a radio person :}
  13. Peregrine

    Peregrine Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you try downloading the .cab file that has been posted a few times already?

    RB... Pandora is SO much more then a radio station. If you've never tried it on the PC you can't truly appreciate it. It is first and foremost a way to discover new music based on your musical tastes...
  14. moto_ftth

    moto_ftth New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just downloaded and installed. I'm very impressed with how clean the UI is. The sound quality isn't the best over EVDO, but acceptable. Will have to try it over WiFi.
  15. cjpederson

    cjpederson New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes... sorry if I was unclear. I downloaded the .cab file and it works fine. I get the error when I go to www.pandora.com on my Q9c.
  16. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    really.... hmz, maybe i do need to check it out in the pc.

    thx.
  17. Peregrine

    Peregrine Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    0
    Once the CAB file is installed, you DON'T go to www.pandora.com, you just run tha APP from PROGRAMS.

    Quick Pandora explantation for RB and anyone else:

    With Pandora you setup your custom "radio stations". Example, I set up a station that I called GOOD ALT ROCK. Then you add favorite bands to those stations. I added: The Hold Steady, Evenesence, Kill Hannah, and Gratitude. Pandora then plays music from those bands that I added. In addition, it will slip in music from bands that have very similar styles. In the software you can say "I like this" or "I don't like this". Doing this gets Pandora to customize even more the music that it plays for you. This is why they call it the "Music Genome" project. Invariably you will hear music from bands you never heard of. I have been turned onto to at least a dozen bands I never heard of and now LOVE.
    You can only skip (by saying "I don't like this") 6 songs per hour. You can't rewind, or repeat. This is part of how they get by doing this for free (and advertising). Bonus plan is most artists get paid a few pennies every time you hear thier song.
    On top of this is an Amazon.com link. A few times I've heard a song and said "Man, I love that" > Click > BUY FROM AMAZON. Most Amazon music is DRM-free...
  18. cjpederson

    cjpederson New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know... I'm up and running just fine with the Pandora application.
    I was just stating that it was weird that the Pandora website doesn't think my phone is supported when it really is, even according to their own website. That's all.
  19. kareljack

    kareljack Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077
    Likes Received:
    15
    WOW!! ... this thing is awesome! I cant wait to show this app off!!.
    Now to find a nice png of it's logo with a transparent background...
    *cough*hint*cough*
  20. craiggiarc

    craiggiarc Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have just added one to the CHOME ICON thread, it's not great, but it works!

    Craig

Share This Page