Opera vs IE

Discussion in 'Samsung Saga' started by bpatt, Jan 28, 2009.

  1. bpatt

    bpatt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Opera vs IE

    Cannot get used to Opera so far. Is there a way to configure IE as the default browser instead of Opera so that I can avoid it altogether?
  2. ParaCAD

    ParaCAD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,685
    Likes Received:
    0
    Search....

    I think theres a reg. hack in the "Hack Section" that may help with this...I like Opera better myself. It has an "Exit" :)
  3. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0

    No hack section for the Saga yet...
  4. ParaCAD

    ParaCAD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,685
    Likes Received:
    0
    @Sherri - Didn't realize i was in a Saga section..lol. I never know where i'll end up when i hit the New Posts button..yikes!
  5. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    I figured! I'm just feeling feisty today! Sorry, AJ!:tounge:
  6. ParaCAD

    ParaCAD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,685
    Likes Received:
    0

    :2cool: No Problem! I'm usually lost thru the day between EQ and work.

    If someone does start hacking their Saga. Hopefully they will share the info.
  7. fr4nk1yn

    fr4nk1yn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    But there is a hack section.
    Most window mobile hacks crossover well.

    What version of Opera are you using 'cause if you hate 9.5 you have serious problems. 0:
  8. larsdennert

    larsdennert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    In hkey classes root change the htmfile\shell\open\command\default to iexplore.exe file:%1
    Do that for anything refering to opera.
    There's an app to do it too. I just can't recall the name right now.
  9. Brent372

    Brent372 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    0
    No need to hack anything.
    Go to options in Opera and uncheck the "use Opera as my default browser" option.
    Reboot.
  10. bpatt

    bpatt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Uh that would be nice, but that doesn't work. :gasp:

    Found this which does work:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Shell\Rai\: DEFBROWSER
    "0"=Opera Browser
    "1"=\Windows\OperaL.exe (change OperaL.exe to iexplore.exe)
  11. skyhigh

    skyhigh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    where the heck is options in opera? i must be blind...
  12. blackmeto

    blackmeto Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,772
    Likes Received:
    0
    look your question just helped me with my problem
    click the ^ in the bottom right side of the screen
    click advanced
    scroll screen up
    last option
  13. skyhigh

    skyhigh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    damn, how did I miss that. I swear I tried scrolling that page.
    Many thanks! I'll try that. If it doesn't work then I'll have to hack the registry.
  14. blackmeto

    blackmeto Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,772
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey it happens to me on the regular
  15. tman065

    tman065 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    what he said.

Share This Page