Opera Mini and the new Full Screen Midlet thingy

Discussion in 'Windows Phone Software' started by g-funkster, Oct 9, 2007.

  1. mobilerobot

    mobilerobot New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    With the 1mb i get the too fast pick larger file message.

    4bars Sprint EVDO

    Sweet
  2. KillerQ

    KillerQ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all,

    I saw someone post on here talking about JBED build 5. I have version 2.blah... Is there a newer build out?

    Thanks,

    Matt
    P.S. Searching returned unsuccessful results...
  3. g-funkster

    g-funkster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is a new version linked on post 1. In addition, if you replace the executable (jbed.exe) of the new version with this one:

    http://rapidshare.com/files/110170038/screenfix.zip.html

    it fixes the screen glitch on smartphones.

    Installing:
    Overwrite the jbed.exe file in your device's \Windows directory.
  4. KillerQ

    KillerQ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks...

    The new version and screen patch fix work well. However, I can't find where Jbed actually installed to. I simply run the fixed .exe from anywhere on my device, and it loads properly, and I can use opera.. I just can't find the installed folder. SKtools tells me the path, but when I use Resco, it's not there!

    It always takes me about 1/2 day to make the damn icon to the new version of opera whenever I install it - especially when I can't find the proper path!....lol. Oh well, it only saves me one button click.

    Matt!
  5. g-funkster

    g-funkster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    overwrite the jbed.exe in \Windows
  6. KillerQ

    KillerQ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah - I saw that somewhere else, but didn't think it would be the default install dir. - I guess it was!

    Thanks, working perfectly now... Oh yea, by shortcut designation for Opera was s5_. wow... even with no other apps currently installed. I guess it keeps a running tally.

    Matt!
  7. shloho

    shloho New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having trouble with this. My q9c won't let me execute fx.exe. It says it is not a valid windows ce application?
  8. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    that means you need to install it on the PC while the Q is hooked up via the USB cable
  9. rainmakerrc

    rainmakerrc New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, fix.exe is just something that you use on your PC - it doesn't get installed on your Q. Just put it in a folder on your PC with a copy of the selector.utf file from your Windows/Appdb folder on your Q, then execute it. It will create a new selector.utf file for you to copy back to your Q (you need to overwrite the original file).
  10. shloho

    shloho New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    It took me a while, but I finally got it. Really appreciate all the help
  11. rainmakerrc

    rainmakerrc New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,612
    Likes Received:
    0
    No problem. Glad you got it working.
  12. kcrlshell

    kcrlshell New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Couple Quick Questions JBED?OperaMini

    So, hope I'm just getting hung up on semantics here...that warning that using Opera Mini may incur "air-time" charges. Do they mean data transfer or literally "air-time" as in "minutes" like a phone call? (I'm currently on U.S. Cellular)

    Also, I first installed the Cloudy_fa Jbed and then installed the newer one linked in the first post on this thread...then, I thought I'd be smart and uninstall the cloudy_fa one since I had the new one. BUT, when I uninstalled, the whole thing disappeared from my phone...at least the icon in the start menu disappeared and I couldn't find a way to start JBed without the icon. Had to re-install them both. So...after all that, my question is, is the newer version just a "patch" or upgrade rather than the whole program? I ask because I'll be getting a new 9c from Sprint next week and I don't want to have to install both Jbed versions if I don't have to... If it is just a patch, is there somewhere where I can download the newest Jbed in it's complete form?

    Oh, one more thing. This zoom using 5. It doesn't seem to work. That is nothing happens. I have the text size set to extra large, but even if I scale it back to medium and use zoom...nothing. What's it supposed to do? Any ideas why it doesn't work for me?

    Thanks!

    Shell
  13. wolfpackfan

    wolfpackfan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have to say I absolutely love Opera Mini on my Moto Q. It is a huge improvement over PIE. In fact, I also have an iPhone and for many websites (especially ones that are message boards) Opera Mini is better than the iPhone. I have one question - I did the font fix, but am wondering has anyone experimented with any other TT fonts besides Tahoma? Tahoma is fine but I wish it was a little darker.
  14. g-funkster

    g-funkster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried like 3 different fonts but none of them changed Opera's font with Jbed. I'd also like to hear if anyone has had success with any other font.
  15. *wishlist*

    *wishlist* New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have sort of the same concern. can i remove to cloudyfa esmertec program after installing the new one?

    i am new here and have been a browsing lurker/learner of this smartphone stuff. i've had the 9c for a couple of months and am just starting to get into it, although a bit slowly, but i've had a lot of help here in EQ and thank all who's contributed to this site. i guess this is my formal introduction and 1st post here. hello all.:laugh2:
  16. cindra

    cindra Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    Welcome to EQ!
  17. g-funkster

    g-funkster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    As the first post says, the jbed link in the new version gets put under a folder called 'programs' under start.

    If you want to do this the clean way, I would recommend uninstalling cloudy, then installing the new one.
  18. ringtail

    ringtail New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    glitch fix

    I can't seem to get the glitch fixed. I followed link from post #223 and then copied it to /windows and did the overwrite. It said it did it but glitch still there. Only thing that is funny is if I go into /windows without it "copied" i can scroll thru entire /windows. If i copy to, or move to then go into /windows it only shows me folders.

    otherwise, thx to all for the many posts. what would we do without forums?
  19. larsdennert

    larsdennert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone happen to have a link to the signed version of mini that doesn't prompt for the data connection? I can't find one on the opera site.

    Also if you have a WM6 phone you can use the newer Rebeiro Jbed instead of cloudys. I have a copy on my site of the cab.
  20. g-funkster

    g-funkster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    select the link to download a different version when browsing to mini.opera.com on the device, then get the 'multiple certificates' version.

Share This Page