Older style Moto Q to a Q9c Contacts....

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9c' started by Bert336, Jul 23, 2008.

  1. Bert336

    Bert336 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Older style Moto Q to a Q9c Contacts....

    ok, so i havent posted in a minute since i own a blackberry :p but i passed on my Q to my brother, and he is upgrading to a Q9c from alltel...my question is, would i still be able to swap the .pim file from the older Q to the new 9c? or how can i go by swapping my contacts? thanks guys!
  2. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    pretty sure it's the same format... if not you could consider Jeyo Companion or Dashwire..
  3. Bert336

    Bert336 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    cool. and the file again is located right there under the main windows folder? vol.pim with the latest modified date on it right?
  4. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    in the root of the phone there should be only one pim.vol
  5. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea, what Paco said....
  6. Bert336

    Bert336 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    cool thank you. any insights on the 9c? is it better more stable than the first Q? after 5 returns i had enough of the Q....but my brother wants to keep it since it allows your to view youtube and do picture messaging.. :angry:
  7. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh yea i seriously dig the Q9c... minor but cool new stuff plus the hardware/keyboard is superior in my opinion.
  8. Bert336

    Bert336 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    it didnt work, i replaced the current pim with mine, and when i tried to access the contacts within the phone. it wouldnt even want to open the contacts list... so :( what is this unlock hack i saw in the 9c section? do i have to unlock the phone to do anything to it?
  9. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    did you reboot the phone?
  10. Bert336

    Bert336 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea, this is how i did it. this has been the way i've done it when i had the other Q replacements...

    I opened up the root folder and i saw the pim, i went in and moved the current pim to my documents folder within the phone, i then grabbed the pim from my desktop which i had copied earlier from my old phone. I pasted it onto the main root, restarted the phone and press contacts. the contacts window flashes for less than a second i can only see contacts on top of the screen and then goes back to home screen. i then went back to the root folder and my documents, deleted the old pim (the one i had moved to documents) rebooted and tried it again and it still didnt work...
  11. Kentanner11

    Kentanner11 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the same problem... upgrading from a Q to a Q9c.... does the exact same thing you described. Any solution found?
  12. rfarrah

    rfarrah New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you sync your phone with Outlook, your PIM will automatically update when you sync your new phone.
  13. Kentanner11

    Kentanner11 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ha! of course I dont use outlook--- Im off to my old computer to find outlook... stay tuned!
  14. mike250rs

    mike250rs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    14,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    copy the pim.vol file you want to your desktop

    install total commander or resco explorer on new device

    move pim.vol from pc to a folder on new device

    use TC or resco to copy pim.vol from folder to root of device (yes to overwrite)

    restart if needed
  15. Kentanner11

    Kentanner11 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used total commander and moved, and restarted and I still get the flashing contact menu... (as described earlier)

Share This Page