Official Q9C Hack Thread

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9c' started by BIGD, Nov 26, 2007.

  1. wannahack

    wannahack New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0

    hi Rudeboy.. Thanks for the quick reply.. yes i tried the HTCUnlock utility.. I ran the app from my phone, but it said operation failed on some of the movements. In the end, it did say done.

    When I try to edit with CeRegistryEditor, it tells me "Access is Denied" any ideas as to what's going on??
  2. fr4nk1yn

    fr4nk1yn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a note on how "dangerous" hacks are.

    I previously did the bluetooth hack on page 14, but I changed phones so had to redo it. I don't remember if I made the changes with CeRegEditor, my favorite, or on the phone with Total Commander.
    At work while streaming through my earpiece it would cut out with each bass hit. Changing the LineSpeed to 256 fixed that. When I got home and tried to play through my computer during my workout I got no sound. The phone would even lock up requiring a battery pull while trying to play some songs in the playlist while trying to connect to the PC as a stereo headset. A lot of deleting and pairing, rebooting and driver reinstalling and it still wasn't fixed.
    That's were I found out the built in Q speakers aren't terribly bad and loud enough, but I digress.
    Just now it hit me to remove the registry entries since it worked yesterday and that fixed it.

    Turns out I created the settings as STRINGS not Dwords.
    Created the right way everything works the way it should.
  3. wannahack

    wannahack New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi,
    I am just trying to be able to hack my phone!! I can't even get to that point.. I took a brand new q9c and flashed the 6.1 update. THEN, i tried to unlock the phone, but still haven't had any success.. Any help on this would be appreciated!!!

    Should I reset the phone or something? I'm willing to do that at this point.
  4. fr4nk1yn

    fr4nk1yn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used CeRegEditor's unlock tool since I'm already using it for editing.
  5. wannahack

    wannahack New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    must be a phone thing then.. i am trying to use the same tool but:frown: all i get is "Access is Denied" when I try..
  6. fr4nk1yn

    fr4nk1yn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you "unlocking" under "Tools"?
  7. wannahack

    wannahack New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    so when i go to "Tools --> Unlock Registry" - I get the message, "Unable to load CERegTools to device!" This is weird... I'm assuming it's not typical to see this??? Maybe I should just reset the entire phone?
  8. wannahack

    wannahack New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh yes, and activesync is on and working.. I can copy/move files just fine.. I'm connected via USB
  9. fr4nk1yn

    fr4nk1yn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    I forgot. There's a confirmation on the phone that needs to be accepted right at that point.
  10. wannahack

    wannahack New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    not sure what's up with my phone, but I don't even see that on the Q. CERegEdit says, "your phone's now unlocked for editing" but I see nothing on the phone itself.

    Reminder: Windows Mobile 6.1

    would that have anything to do with it?
  11. Zinja

    Zinja New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'd like to find the .cab file for RegistryEditor as I would like to install the program from my Q9. can someone post their apps page link so I can navigate to the file?
  12. j_hoff_05

    j_hoff_05 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyway to relock it if ever needed?
  13. fr4nk1yn

    fr4nk1yn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting problem with two of these hacks.

    I did the IE Cache on Card Hack and Mail on Card Hack.
    I turned off the phone and removed the card to copy files from another phone, the files where transferred into a new folder.
    When placed back in my phone and turned on none of my shortcuts are working.
    I now have TWO storage cards. The first "Storage Card" contains the IE cache and mail files while "Storage Card 2" contains all my programs and file.

    I'll undo these now and hope a reboot takes care of it.
  14. jasoraso

    jasoraso Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Once the phone has created the Storage Card as part of the regular filesystem, it will always load the real storage card as Storage Card 2 (I know because I've done the same thing).

    You might try plugging the phone into the computer and then browsing the device using active sync/WMDC and see if you can delete the folder Storage Card. It probably won't let you in which case you'll need to follow the steps below.

    You will probably need to undo the hacks, reboot, delete the folder "storage Card", then reboot and the real card should be mounted as "storage card" - afterwhich you can redo the hacks.
  15. fr4nk1yn

    fr4nk1yn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's exactly what I did.

    What's strange is that I removed and reinserted the card with the phone off.
    The phone was never on with the card removed.
  16. LoDown3

    LoDown3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    dunno if ur prooblem got solved...but um*EDIT*:read below...

    hence why i said i'm assuming, with my ignorant ass haha. thanks.
  17. Boycan

    Boycan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    HTCunlock works :)
  18. droogie2799

    droogie2799 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    umm, how to get I unlock.zip? I am guessing the registry is locked out of the box? I ran a util that was supposed to create some registry entries and I get an error.
  19. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    go here
    http://mq.roeiboot.com/apps/
    install AEConfig and it will unlock your device
  20. bobjones207

    bobjones207 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPS Hack?

    I know there is a thread about this, but I wonder if any one here can use GPS and My Location with google maps.

Share This Page