Official Motorola Q Software Update Thread

Discussion in 'Motorola Q' started by chris, Aug 30, 2006.

  1. macguy

    macguy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting. I was told by the manager of a local corporate Verizon store that the stores WILL NOT do the update for the Q.
  2. tharmsen

    tharmsen New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jesh, that was an ordeal. After successfully getting the update installed my phone could call out but I couldn't access the EVDO network. I kept getting "Error - line is busy" when I tried to sync with my Exchange server or tried to access a website. After powering the phone on and off a couple of times and doing *228 3 times it finally started to work.
  3. tharmsen

    tharmsen New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have noticed that the keys are far more responsive with the update installed. I used to notice a lag from when I hit a key to the time it appeared on screen. This would cause me to often miss a key as I would type faster than the phone could keep up. Now it seems key entries are instantaneous.

    That's a good reason to do the update!
  4. JessJenn

    JessJenn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does this update come with the new .NET framework to run the GoogleMaps?
  5. djlactose

    djlactose New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    no it doesn't I had to still install it.
  6. JessJenn

    JessJenn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ahh, that sucks. K, thanks!
  7. larsdennert

    larsdennert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ouchy. That's like restoring Windows95 onto WindowsXP.

    Start the phone, when the phone starts to boot, hold the center action button down and then press and hold the power button. That should allow a cold boot.

    For those stuck in roaming after the update:

    1. dial ##073887* and then send
    2. enter 000000 (six zero's) for the security code hit ok
    3. User Activation hit ok
    4. NAM1 HIT OK
    5. under MIN erase what is there and put in your number
    6. under MDN erase what is there and put in your number
    7. under CDMA SysID put in 21
    8. hit back , back , and then exit
    9. restart the phone
    10. dial *228 and then choose option 1&2 and you are all set

    Before updating,
    Turn off firewalls
    Make sure you are an admin on the machine
    Delete mail accounts on the phone
    Sync or backup data in case it can't restore
    At least have msactivesync 4.2 installed
    disable phone locks
    disable wireless sync / push
    charge phone
    install msi
    install updater
    run updater
    Make sure the phone is working *228 1 2 or above
    Sync it
    Select Add remove programs in Activesync and recheck the boxes for stuff you had installed on the phone.

    Phone works much better but I don't use push-email because it sucks battery more than pop does.
  8. bugbeast

    bugbeast New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Confirming Update

    I bought my Q today and the Verizon tech (who didn't seem completely ignorant) said that their current stock of phones did have the new update. Is there a way for me to confirm this before I spend a great deal of time setting the phone up just the way I like it?

    BTW, I decided to get this phone after spending quite a while reading this forum. The expertise and willingness to help made me feel like I wasn't sliding down the cutting edge of technology all on my own...thanks to all!

    Matt
  9. lebox97

    lebox97 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    bugbeast see below

    go to start/settings/more/more/about
    4th line down should say: "OS 5.1.195 (Build 14960.2.4.0)"

    this is the newest
    another clue is when you go to start - you should have 4 icon wide display (rather than the older 3 icon wide)
    :thumbup:


  10. tj!2k6

    tj!2k6 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting.. I may be repeating something someone else already stated, but if the official update's version is "OS 5.1.195 (Build 14960.2.4.0)," then it is exactly the same as the leaked beta.
  11. tharmsen

    tharmsen New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Verizon is pretty good about updating their phones right away.
  12. hounddog

    hounddog New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Phone connectivity

    I completed the update which took care of most of my Issues. I have a Q that I am testing. The only problem that I have left is that it will stop syncing. When that happens the phone quits working also. It does stay powered on, this was an issue I was having before the update. I can power it off after the connectivity quits, but I can not power it back on until I remove and replace the battery. I was wondering if anyone else has this issue or it is just the Q that I have. One other thing. If it is pluged into the AC adapter it does not seem to loose connectivity. Just strange.

    Thanks for your help
  13. tharmsen

    tharmsen New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is not normal behavior for the Q, I would say there is something wrong with it.
  14. Pellicle

    Pellicle New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did not restore system files just data. And the system is still WM5 not a new operating system. The same programs should work with their respective data.
    Following advice on one of the forums I tried holding the Enter and A key after a battery removal. This did bring me back to the bootloader and allow me to attempt a reload of the operating system but failed at the BP programing step showing about 20% complete on the M Software update and at the BP is programming stage on the phone. Soon after starting the Updated device software is shown on the MSU screen the message "Writing the EPL failed" appears on the phone. Again once 20% is hit the software reports failure to complete the update. Now the phone blinks the Verixon carrier screen rather than the constannt carrier screen. I can get back to the bootloader program via the A/Enter combo on battery removal or after attemped programming but with essentially the same results as above.

    The IMEI Model Number and Carrier no longer show in the MSU screen.

    The Center action and Power button combo seem to have no effect at all. Maybe this works after a boot but the phone sticks at the carrier screen.
  15. bmwbig6

    bmwbig6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, am I the only one having major problems installing the update? It never gets past 5% complete (after it displays the "Motorola Flash Mode Bootloader Version" black and white BIOS screen. Sometimes it stays at 0%. I have already done the following:

    - removed mail accounts (except Outlook--don't see a way to remove that)
    - disabled wireless sync/push
    - restored home screen to default
    - disabled Bluetooth
    - disabled (PC) firewall

    Do I need to delete or uninstall any 3rd party apps? Restore some of the speed hacks I made in the registry with Resco? (I figured those would be wiped out anyway). I'm about to do a master reset and if that doesn't work, I don't know what else to try.
  16. bmwbig6

    bmwbig6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, well the master reset didn't work. W-T-F? Do I need to use some magic sauce? Never gets past 4%. Yes I am using ActiveSync 4.2. And yes I'm on a full charge (tried both extended and standard batteries). Any other ideas? I'm willing to try anything since my phone is pretty-much a paperweight right now since the reset.
  17. bmwbig6

    bmwbig6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Suspecting a USB conflict problem, I attempted the update from another computer and it worked like a charm on the first try. Didn't feel like disconnecting all of my USB peripherals to troubleshoot this on my primary computer. Still disappointed in how flaky this update was.
  18. chris

    chris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    37
    I think it is...difference in the official release being the installer itself.Huh?
  19. lo-tek

    lo-tek New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    FWIW I'll agree with this. I had problems updating my Q and moved the USB cable from a hub to a port on the computer and that got me updated.
  20. freemans

    freemans New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    ERROR-Update has not been completed

    I cant get past this point, I have tried removing all usb devices, taking out the battery from the Q, restarting my computer :wacko:

    What else can I try??

Share This Page