Official Moto Q Daylight Savings Time Update Thread

Discussion in 'Motorola Q' started by evil247, Feb 22, 2007.

  1. azdps

    azdps New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    So there's a Potential of it being removed via "Clutz" or Hard Reset, and if, or I should say When it's removed, then what ?....get the LG 3200......':-(>
  2. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    i suppose you could reload it
  3. xtrobx

    xtrobx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not updating

    Ok I downloaded the DST Patch and nothing...my6 clock is still an hour behind..even if I go in and change the time manually as soon as i get on internet or call someone it changes back/...any suggestions
  4. driverseven

    driverseven New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also am stuck with the old time (one hour behind now) -- did people who installed the patch see their Q time change automatically?

    This is really surpsing -- I figured that verizon was sending the time to my phone.
  5. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    i got a message on my screen when i woke up this morning saying that microsoft has updated my time an hour.
    its not verizon its how the Q was programed, it was programed before congress decided to change dst, which is why you need the patch.
  6. driverseven

    driverseven New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only thing that's happened by loading the patches is that I have screwed up some of the times on appointments -- for some reason, a few appointments were pushed ahead by an hour.

    I'm giving up with these updates. I just changed the digit in the Settings under Clock.

    There is definitely something user-unfriendly about the way Windows Mobile handles time-zone changes. Once when I went to the west coast, I changed my time zone while I was there and ended up with the wrong time on a bunch of upcoming appointments.
  7. driverseven

    driverseven New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't believe it -- after I manually changed the time an hour, I re-synched with my Windows PC (which was successfully updated) and the Q changed the time back an hour. Incredible.

    I suppose the problem is that I did not update Active Sync. I haven't updated it because the new version does not support Outlook 2000. So in order to have my Q display the correct time, I now need to update software that was running perfectly fine.

    Yet another reminder of why people hate Microsoft.
  8. xtrobx

    xtrobx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I went in to my clock and changed the Time Zone and everythis is fine...So I would say check your time zone setting worked for me ..Thx
  9. g35rocker

    g35rocker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    For me it did not change the time automatically. I turned on the phone this morning and it was on the old time. Probably left it on for about 2-3 minutes and still had the old time. Sync'd it with outlook (2002) and active sync 4.5, then the time changed. My appointments are OK.
  10. PattyM

    PattyM New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I am certainly feeling stupid! Usually I'm pretty good with this stuff, but after updating my PC and laptop (both without a hitch), the time updated just fine. BUT, when I run the DST for my Q, nada...it asks me to "repair" or "delete" the DST files. If I "repair", nothing changes. I have soft reset the Q twice, and still nada. I know I'm missing something here...:embarassed:
    Patty

  11. ppcmd

    ppcmd New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed the patch on Friday and today my time did not update. I figured hard reset and install everything again just to be sure, and nothing again except it messed up the calendar appts I did via my Q. So I just manually updated the clock and next time around may just opt to do it myself.
  12. gmardre

    gmardre New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did the patches last week. NP> Today when I booted the Q up, it had the wrong hour. Rebooted...and voila! the correct time.
  13. PattyM

    PattyM New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re-booted your Q or PC?

  14. gmardre

    gmardre New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rebooted the phone. When it booted up the second time today...after unplugging it from the charger...the second time the time was correct.
  15. azdps

    azdps New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update



    I found out via Local News and VZW Data Support, that the change does'nt apply to AZ. and the upgrade is not neccessary on my Q. So I removed it.

    :embarassed: O.K.; Atleast pretend to care...Please ? :laugh2:
  16. Rider

    Rider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did the patch from verizon, install was easy.

    So then I rebooted my phone this afternoon because I shut it down when I take out the sd card. When it came on, it was an hour ahead. I manually changed the time back. An hour or two later, the hour was 1 ahead again. I manually changed it back again. Rebooted this evening when I was playing around with the card again... kept the correct time, that time.

    Hm.... I'm still wondering why I bothered with the patch. I don't use email/outlook on my phone at all - when I'm off work, I'm OFF. :2cool:

    Hope its ok tomorrow!
  17. stalls808

    stalls808 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    ive installed the dst update 3 times now and it doesnt work

    i downloaded the dst change software 3 times and still doesnt work. i followed the directions to the tee and everything. what do i do now?
  18. Daniel Paz

    Daniel Paz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    This blows

    Same here. The outlook upgrade won;t load because it says OL isn't the default mail client (WTF do they care?) I make OL the default for the purpose od the DL and still nothing. I love microsoft!!!
  19. Daniel Paz

    Daniel Paz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    You've been living in AZ how long?
  20. bigwavedavek

    bigwavedavek New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Problem with download of time zone update tool

    I have a problem with the installation of the updates.

    I was able to download and install a couple of the updates but the "Microsoft Office Outlook Tool: TIme Zone Data Update Tool for Microsoft Office Outlook" (tzmove.exe) won't install. It keeps giving me an error message telling me that Microsoft Outlook is not set as my default mail program.

    I use Thunderbird as my default email program but went ahead and changed the default to Outlook, need a restart, then tried to install tzmove.exe and it still continues to give me the same error message and an "operation failed" error message too.

    I did not go into Outlook and actually configure my email accounts as they are in Thunderbird but I wouldn't think that would matter.

    I use Outlook for my calender, notes, and tasks but prefer to use Thunderbird for my email.

    Any advice would be appreciated.




Share This Page