New version of Google maps for mobile! - track your friends

Discussion in 'Windows Phone Software' started by kareljack, Feb 4, 2009.

  1. dragonfly

    dragonfly New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    yup to all questions lol. weird thing is i would understand if my phone isnt finding me just due to no gps on it, but my desktop should be able to see where i am with it. and i even logged off at home thinking that was interfering with it but still says im home and i have it set to auto and installed that "gears" stuff it says to install. maybe its a lost cause for me lol.
  2. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    how would the pc find you if your phone isnt telling it where you are? if you type in your location in the latitude part on your phone does your PC update?
  3. dragonfly

    dragonfly New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    now i see it if i set it manually, but i thought its supposed to auto find me for automatic location.
  4. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    i think either GPS or the My Location feature has to be running...i dont think it can update where you are if you dont have a way for it to see your phone and track your phone...

    i dont think it works by just tower triangulation
  5. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    sorry to double post but this is why your original Q doesnt work...see link above 'location-based service'

  6. dragonfly

    dragonfly New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    ah ok thanks for the info :) have a good one.
  7. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    no problem...
  8. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    softspirits started a thread in Off-Topic for anyone using the service and wants to be part of the EQ Latitude group.
  9. softspirits

    softspirits Guest

    You would be the most fun to track since you go all over the country!
  10. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, I'm guessing you have to have it running for people to track you. If not it takes you last know location
  11. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    EGADS! Why on earth would you want to be on that road! <G>

    I downloaded and installed and like any other version of google Maps, it says location not available.

    Until Verizon unlocks the Saga's GPS, I don't know how we could use this?

    Speaking of which, how would I find out *if*/*when* Verizon releases a patch to unlock the GPS. supposed to happen 1st quarter, but no idea where to look. Not on Samsung site that I can find.

    EQBob
  12. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doesn't he have the original Q?
  13. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    well thats how i get home from the airport:laugh2:

    you could get an external bluetooth gps receiver i suppose
  14. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    re: airport. Yuck. None of them in that area are much fun to get to/from <G>

    re: GPS....yeah...first the headset. Most of our funds are being spent on vets recently....not a whole lot left over for toys until our little angel gets her diet stabilized...

    EQBob
  15. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    How are you folks using it (latitude) on the Q, since those on VZW are locked GPS as well?

    EQBob
  16. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    rocking it on my Napoleon...
    suck it vzw:tounge:
  17. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you exit GM on the phone it will ask you if you want it to keep track of your location. If you allow it it will run lightly in the background. But I've found that since Google Maps disables the screen dim, letting it run in the background will leave the disabling on, so your screen never turns off, even with a press and hold of the message button.
  18. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Show Off <G>

    EQBob
  19. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sprint FTW.
  20. dragonfly

    dragonfly New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use it on my original Q and it tracks my location dead on since i got myself an external bluetooth gps. it tracks it 10 times more accurate than the my location thing on google maps and that triangular location.

Share This Page