New Symbol?

Discussion in 'Motorola Q' started by sherri, Jul 1, 2008.

  1. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    New Symbol?

    Usually, on my phone, there is 52.38 MB listed for Device Storage. Used is usally around 25-26, and free is usually around the same. (Most of my stuff is stored on the storage card...)

    For some reason, it is now showing 32.77 used and 19.59 free. Have not added anything new in months! (Actually, I added 2 contacts, but that shouldn't do it, should it?) Can't find where or why this is showing like this. Used SKTools lite. Cleared internet cache...Nothing running/killed all applications/programs etc...

    On my homescreen, there is this new symbol, and I have NO idea what it is. I tried to circle it, but my computer skills, as most know, are limited!! It is on the top of the screen, next to the time.

    Any and all help would be greatly appreciated!

    As always, Thanks in Advance!!

    Attached Files:

  2. bobby-n

    bobby-n New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    3,991
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm thats a good point ..... maybe a program your running.. and can u link me for that homescreen
  3. trdspectacoma

    trdspectacoma New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    That homescreen is the myPhone pack. I had that same homescreen but one thing that I noticed. It slowed the phone down even with little programs. I really don't know what that symbol is though.
  4. Geekster

    Geekster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4,952
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the "symbol" page bookmarked & now the page is no longer there, they moved it! *sigh*
    Did you try to reboot? Maybe GPS system location icon? Do you have that enabled?
  5. kogama

    kogama Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    0
    That icon added about 7mb to your used space???
  6. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. kogama

    kogama Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try backing up and doing a master reset ?????????????????????????????????????
  8. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. kogama

    kogama Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lol why not join the other 90% of people on Eq who said do a master reset since i see it in every single thread
  10. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh so your advise consists of what other people say... mmmkay.
  11. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    because we are here to help people and a master reset should be the last resort...come on now

    just because you dont know something doesnt mean you have to reset the device
  12. kogama

    kogama Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    0
    lol thats why you should always have a backup program and a sd card
  13. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, everyone, for your quick replies!

    Bobby-n: Hope this link works...

    http://forums.sbsh.net/index.php?showtopic=21392&hl=myphone theme

    I believe you need facade & phoneAlarm.

    The symbol has me stumped. I can't find anything different in my settings or file manager. I have not gotten the error message that I'm low on storage, and the phone is running fine...I just like to keep the memory as "open" as possible. The RAM memory show RAM storage: 52.62 MB, with used showing around 25MB and free being around the same.

    RB, you know me better! NO WAY am I Master Resetting my phone unless I am having major problems and/or did something to really screw it up! LOL...

    If anyone has any suggestions on things I can delete to free up some memory, please let me know.

    Thanks again!
  14. kogama

    kogama Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont think you wanna do this but i backed up everything in my application data/home files to a separate folder on my cp and deleted them in my phone because i never once used them and i dont think i will and i ahvent had any problems..i didnt delete some of them because i wasnt too sure what they were but i saved about 2 mb..small but helps
  15. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0

    Kogama, you are absolutely right!! I DON'T WANNA DO THIS!!!
  16. kogama

    kogama Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    0
    just trying to help its not like there are any consequences?????
  17. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    so then where do you keep your homescreens?
  18. kogama

    kogama Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    0
    I keep them in a folder on my desktop with my other backups for smartphone
  19. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    i meant the ones you are currently using
  20. kogama

    kogama Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    0
    there still there in my application data/home i didnt delete some things in home screen layout and i got rid of everything in color scheme except eko's black soft keys

    in home screen layout i still have technistyle's exotic cars theme/windows simple/ defualt/large font/ basic/ sprint layout/ facade/ facade wide

    everything else was unnecessary hmm maybe i should get rid of these layouts

Share This Page