New Q9C Instant messaging issue

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9c' started by warriorfiend, Nov 26, 2007.

  1. warriorfiend

    warriorfiend New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    New Q9C Instant messaging issue

    Has anyone been able to connect to Live messenger or Yahoo Messenger using the Instant Messaging app that comes with the Phone?

    I've never been able to connect after entering my username and password. After about 30 secs of trying to connect I get a message "Error Server is temporarily unavailable. (code:503)"

    It has been the same message for 3 days now. Haven't called tech support yet. But thought I would post here first, to see if anyone else is encountering any issues.
  2. dabluprint173

    dabluprint173 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey i guess im the only one after all lol

    i got mines on saturday and ive been having the same issue too. i havent called tech support either, i assumed it was some server issue or something down those lines.
  3. UPdownLoAD

    UPdownLoAD New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's working now, and it also works on the regular Q! :~)
  4. dabluprint173

    dabluprint173 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    it is working FINALLY :laugh2:
  5. BIGD

    BIGD New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    what did u do ?
  6. dabluprint173

    dabluprint173 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    nothing, i just signed on and it went through.
  7. donnykc

    donnykc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    where u get the cab file for the regular q?
  8. UPdownLoAD

    UPdownLoAD New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll post the link to it tomorrow. I have it bookmarked in the office.
  9. donnykc

    donnykc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    sweet deal.
  10. UPdownLoAD

    UPdownLoAD New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. donnykc

    donnykc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    sweet program... thanks
  12. SprintBoiler

    SprintBoiler New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, very important question here...

    How is this program charged? I get a message that they recommend having a data plan and a messaging plan on the phone in order to use it, otherwise .20 cents per message and 0.03 cents per Kb will be charged.

    The data plan I am good on, and I have 500 text's per month....but is everytime I send a message over AIM, this thing program is going to deduct 1 text?
  13. Dr.Snyder

    Dr.Snyder New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    not sure man? but if that's the case, i'd say ah-phuka-dat-chit man, dat ain't cool!!!
  14. rainmakerrc

    rainmakerrc New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,612
    Likes Received:
    0

    YMMV, but assuming the Usage Details information for My Account on the Sprint website is accurate as of this afternoon, I was only charged 1 text message to use the program yesterday afternoon (the IM conversation I had was several IM's long) plus the data usage. But, like I said, I'm basing this solely on the accuracy of the Usage Details online. I'm a new Sprint customer and have no prior billing history with Sprint, if that makes any difference.
  15. malatesta

    malatesta New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Sprint IM program uses SMS for when in "background mode" (minimized). This is so you don't use any data (i.e. battery) when your IM program is just idling in the background.

    Basically, you will get one SMS per incoming conversation if you are in background mode.

    Once you decide to acknowledge the incoming IM and agree to chat, it's just straight data.

    So it's all dependent on how many IM requests you get per day/month.
  16. Breeze Loo

    Breeze Loo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is anyone getting "Error: User does not exit (code: 920)" tonight when signing on to AIM using the Nelson IM client (the one that is on the phone)?

    Was working perfectly fine for me yesterday (when i was in the dentist's chair :tounge: )
  17. Q'r

    Q'r New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    WM 6.1 issues with Yahoo IM

    Has anyone had any issues with the IM app logging into yahoo? I have a Q9c running WM 6.1 with no custom apps on it at this time. I had not issues before i updated to the new WM 6.1. Now i get a message " Not logged in Yahoo Messenger (code: 604) "

    Any help would be appreciated
  18. berger1980

    berger1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Instant Messaging

    I used to use the one that came on the phone. I found in bad service areas that it would say connected, but it really wasn't.

    Moral of the story is, I followed someone else's advice and started using Slick. From that point on, I have LOVED the messenger. You can send/receive files, do the normal chat things as you would on your pc. Supported protocols are Yahoo, MSN, Google chat,AIM, and Jabber. Plus, it's FREE.
  19. Q'r

    Q'r New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks you. I will try it. I hope this fixes the issues...

Share This Page