New Moto Q (new to me). How to get new Home Screen without USB cable

Discussion in 'Motorola Q' started by medenblik, Mar 22, 2010.

  1. medenblik

    medenblik New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    New Moto Q (new to me). How to get new Home Screen without USB cable

    I have Internet and email but no SYNC cable.

    How can I get a new Homescreen or theme on my Q

    thanks

    -Keith
  2. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    you can setup a bluetooth connection, use an SD card by putting it in a PC and loading the files, email them to yourself, or go to radio shack/best buy and buy a cable for $5
  3. medenblik

    medenblik New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    well I went to a website and downloaded a theme called MAC2 and it shows under my documents in File MAnager.....What is the process to INSTALL it I click on it but it goes to file viewer but doesn't install.

    thanks for the help
  4. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
  5. medenblik

    medenblik New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks but it doesn't say what to do when the .zip file is on the device.........how to install it..........
  6. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    says it right here

    just copy the files from the zip file to /application data/home
    copy them exactly how they are unzipped, do not change anything

    then go to
    settings
    homescreen
    and pick the name of the file you just placed there...thats it
  7. medenblik

    medenblik New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    well i can copy the whole zip file to that location but i cannot just copy the .xml file

    might just be easier to buy a sync cable and do it over the computer..............................i see the zip and can see the files in file viewer when I click on the zip file.............but when I click select the xml file it opens up and shows the file, and I cannot move it to that location.............I am sure I am doing something wrong and sounds so easy
  8. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    what program are you using to unzip it?
  9. medenblik

    medenblik New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    not sure i just click on it on my phone and it opens it up in file viewer

    once in file viewer............i cannot copy any files
  10. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
  11. medenblik

    medenblik New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    yes, click the link, install the app and then use the app to navigate to the zip file, that should let you do what we want to do
  13. medenblik

    medenblik New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks alot
  14. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    no problem!
    let me know how you make out
  15. medenblik

    medenblik New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using the MAC-2 one now

    kinda cool

    anyplace where I can see a bunch and then download quickly without having to navigate through soo many pages??

    any cool ones you guys recommend?

    PM them to me please
  16. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    make your way through the homescreen collection
    every one has there own taste, facade is a great homescreen tool too
  17. ryant35

    ryant35 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just don't go to your service provider and buy a "sync cable" go to Best Buy or Radio Shack or even the electronic department at Wal-Mart and get a USB cable. These so called sync cables from the providers sometimes come with software and can cost up the $50. As usb cable can be dirt cheap.

    [​IMG]

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0..._m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=18DRKDCS22FM7GDKP7NP

    It's hard to imagine that you wouldn't already have one of these cables, everything electronic comes with one, I have at least 7 or 8. Even my 1 year old daughters talking stuffed dog came with one.
  18. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    but, you have to be careful because not all Mini USB cables will sync data. The cooling pad for my laptop uses a Mini USB cable, and it will not let my Touch Pro 2 sync, but that's the only one that I've run into so far that won't let my phones sync
  19. ryant35

    ryant35 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0


    The cooling pad should only have 2 wires, just for power - no data. That's pretty rare.
  20. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    that's the weird part, it's got 4 wires

Share This Page