My pictures directory?

Discussion in 'Moto Q Hacks' started by glorify, Jun 6, 2008.

  1. glorify

    glorify Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    My pictures directory?

    On a 9c with 6.1

    Anyone know how to change the default location of My Pictures? I'd rather pull the pictures for my home screen from a folder on my storage card. Figured a registry hack is the only way, but can't find where.
  2. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    for the home screen you just need to change the xml to point to the file on the storage card.
  3. glorify

    glorify Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doh. very simple. Thanx
  4. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    no problem. It can be a bit of a pain if you change your home screen frequently, but since each screen in theory could have it's own individual file targeted (if you really wanted to do it that way) that's how it's done.
  5. glorify

    glorify Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    NNormally I change a ton, but since 6.1 I am using the panels a lot with different background images.
  6. glorify

    glorify Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope. No worky. XML has nothing on it, just references the plugin. Either need to edit the registry or the plugin and that plugin editor doesn't worky to edit the default.
  7. mike250rs

    mike250rs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    14,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    do you mean just as a background using defalt layouts?

    navigate to the pic, select it. this should bring it up in the viewer. select menu ) use as home screen.
  8. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    maybe it's just eko's flip that targets specific images (since it uses more than one). or just the custom screens...
    I generally stick to one screen for a long time (had been using eko's flip until tuesday...)
  9. glorify

    glorify Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, no, no. On 6.1, one of the sliding panels shows thumbs of your pics from the My Pics directory. I want to change the thumbs to a different directory--on my storage card.
  10. mike250rs

    mike250rs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    14,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    ahhh, I'm still in the darkages.... WM5 :)
  11. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    and I don't use the media slider. but I'll see if I can find anything.
  12. glorify

    glorify Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you sir.
  13. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, tried it out. my pics are stored in a folder labled DCIM on the storage card (default folder created by the camera) and they all show up in that panel
  14. glorify

    glorify Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah Ha. You HAVE to set your camera settings to save to the storage card. Otherwise it won't read from it.

    Nice find. Thanx!
  15. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    no problem, glad to be able to help
  16. bmar29

    bmar29 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok i have a Q9m with WM6 not 6.1 and when i set the camera default save to the card, it doesnt show up and i have to go to menu>folders>storage card
    it just seems like too much work. is there really any way to have them show up under pictures and videos and still have them be on the card?
  17. bmar29

    bmar29 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    bump anyone?
  18. Bozz

    Bozz New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dunno the answer.... I have WM5 and mine does the same thing... very annoying.

    Hopefully rb, n99, or one of the other guru's here will chime and and teach us...


    Bozz
  19. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    really? to much work?

    i suppose you could attempt to find it in the registry
  20. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    thats not what the op is asking

    if you change you photo default location to sd card it creates a folder called dcim so it WONT show in that view

    -Sent from my Q9c

Share This Page