Mundu IM

Discussion in 'Windows Phone Software' started by theicepelican, May 16, 2007.

  1. theicepelican

    theicepelican New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mundu IM

    Hey all... My trial just expired on Mundu IM, and I was wondering if anyone has any strong argument as to why I shouldn't put down the whopping $11 on it... I like the program but was wondering if anyone had any other feedback on it... Thanks All
  2. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    compared to 44 bucks for agile (i think its agile) i would recommend mundu...i had the trial and love the program...just never got around to purchasing it
  3. catallah

    catallah New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could always try to use IM+, I have it on my moto Q from sprint and it works very well. If you are worried about paying for the program you might want to look into http://www.pxdxa.com/index.php under smartphones. I have found tons of programs on this site.
  4. Snuzzi8

    Snuzzi8 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried amlost every mobile IM program and ended up getting Agile for the simple fact that it does not mess up my buddy list. On all of the other programs when I signed into AIM a lot of my buddies were missing. Agile is a good program and I would recomend it.
  5. beagleboy

    beagleboy New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been using it without issue...it's basic and does the job. Much cheaper then IM+ and some of the other options.
  6. dcdomain

    dcdomain New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only thing that has kept me from really looking into IM on my phone is the fact that everytime I'm on the data connection, phone calls get blocked and routed to my voicemail.

    I'm guessing that you guys either:
    1. Aren't on IM that much to cause much concern.
    2. Don't mind having all your calls go to voicemail.
    3. Figured out a way to be on AIM and still receive calls (please tell me this is the case :tounge:).
  7. catallah

    catallah New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    What provider do you have, Sprint allows phone calls to go through when I am on IM....weird
  8. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    your phone should default to voice over data...ill get kicked off-line for an incoming call...i have vzw
  9. theicepelican

    theicepelican New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0

    i do too, you might wanna pose that question to the sprint forums because i havent had that problem either
  10. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    do a search of thr forum for this topic....voice preferene over data connection....i remember a week or so ago a member posted how to switch back and forth between those settings....this will help you....if you cant find it i will search when i get to a PC

    - Sent from my Q
  11. xlotusx

    xlotusx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm with sprint and i also had this problem, until i found this thread:
    http://www.everythingq.com/forum/sprint/cannot-receive-calls-while-using-evdo-3438.html
    basically you just go to the phone application, dial ##33284#, and press call. a secret menu should pop up then you just go to field test menu > then turn DDTM off. i'm not sure what this does exactly but i believe it sets the phone so that voice calls take priority over data transfers when your browsing or using aim or whatever.

    as far as mundo im goes, i believe its not too bad. the only problem i ran into was that i couldnt set a custom availability message. other than that, it did its job fairly well. i'm still deciding whether or not i should purchase it since i have an awesome messaging client on my other phone.

    does anybody know any im programs that allows you to go into aim chatrooms? i'm in a beta group and we always go into chatrooms to discuss the things that we test. thanks in advance
  12. jrstinkfish

    jrstinkfish New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just started using Mundu again today, and it's got weird quirk that I don't remember from my trial period. When I'm chatting, and the text hits the bottom of the screen (where the input box is), the last message gets cut off, like it's putting it under the input box. I can see the sliced-off top of the contact's name right above the input box in blue, but the rest of their name and their message is underneath the input box. Scrolling down doesn't help. If I go to the contact list then come back to the chat, everything looks fine until the next message is sent. I don't remember this happening in the trial version, or I would've never purchased it. Anyone else have this issue?? I'm thinking it's the giant Mundu graphic at the top of the chat window that's throwing things off.
  13. jrstinkfish

    jrstinkfish New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Something else I noticed bout Mundu is that it will randomly shut itself down. You never know if it's done it until you click on the icon to bring it back up, and you get the Mundu splash screen as it loads and reconnects. It's definitely got some quirks that make it not ready for prime-time (can't change the IM alert sound? Wha??). Compared to the high prices of the other chat programs, it's a good deal, but I have a hard time believing this is a 4.0 version of a product.
  14. norcatalyst126

    norcatalyst126 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    I downloaded a version of Mundu about 2 months ago and it worked perfect.....They recently had an updated version, downloaded that, and I get this same problem....I have to send whoever i'm IM'ing blank messages so I can read what they said and then explain why....Its annoying!!!....Another thing I don't like about the new version is for some reason I can't log on to MSN....
  15. gaines

    gaines New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've experienced the same issue. I'm hoping that Trillian Astra will be a nice alternative for the smartphone when it's released as I got used to the nice features in Trillian such as meta contacts.
  16. samster

    samster New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was having the same issue so I contacted them. They immediately sent a new version that, as far as I can tell, has this problem corrected.
  17. jrstinkfish

    jrstinkfish New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    So there's not a publicly available version that fixes the problem? I am using the latest version from their site. Well, I'm not using it right now, I gave up and went back to Octro.
  18. samster

    samster New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    This was the reply to my email:

    "We apologize for the inconvenience caused while using mundu IM V4.
    A recent update of mundu IM on the Smartphone platform seems to have
    caused some display problems with the chat window on certain models.
    Attached is an updated build. Kindly download and install the same on
    your device and let us know if the problem persists.
    Thanks & Regards,
    mundu IM Team. "

    I'm not sure why it's not available on the site, but this is what they sent:

    http://www.sendspace.com/file/5vl2js

    I haven't had that issue with this version.
  19. jrstinkfish

    jrstinkfish New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks! I'll download that and see if it fixes things. I've actually grown to like Octro more and more (until it goes pay, ugh ...), but maybe this release fixes some of the other things I found annoying about Mundu.
  20. norcatalyst126

    norcatalyst126 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    I downloaded that software mentioned in post #18....Works PERFECT!!!!!....And for some reason with the old software I wasn't able to log into MSN....Now I can, and see the last IM sent....

Share This Page