MS Startup WAV

Discussion in 'Q Home Screens and Wallpapers' started by jgmelott, Jul 7, 2006.

  1. jgmelott

    jgmelott New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    MS Startup WAV

    Is there any way to turn OFF the startup sound when the Q is turned on? It is sometimes embarassing, other times, annoying.

    Unsure

    --JG.
  2. TAG1976

    TAG1976 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree, I usually have my phone set to loud and vibrate because I work in a noisy enviroment. Sometimes I forget when I turn it on its going to Blare that startup tone. Its bound to make people notice.
  3. Lee

    Lee New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same question. No answers?

    The startup noise doesn't sound when Q is set to Silent but that's not my preferred setting.
  4. hnsimpson

    hnsimpson New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    From another site:

    You need to get a registry editor, like PHM Registry:
    PHM Registry Editor : Smartphone Edition

    Launch the program and navigate to:

    \HKEY_CURRENT_USER\ControlPanel\Sounds\SystemStart\Sound

    Change
    \Windows\Piano.wav to \Windows\*none*

    Remember to include the asterisks

    -Simpson
  5. jgmelott

    jgmelott New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you, very much! That worked!

    Silence is golden... :)
  6. TAG1976

    TAG1976 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    0
    So with that said, and the answer as simple as it is, and proven tested by JGM, One could assume that any Mp3/Wav/Sound file (If Compatible) could be used as the start up sound? Correct?
  7. hnsimpson

    hnsimpson New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would assume so....but I'll let someone else try it out first.
    :whistling

    -Simpson
  8. Snarl

    Snarl New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    gonna try riiighhtt now.
  9. Snarl

    Snarl New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    tried it with a .wav...nothin...
  10. Snarl

    Snarl New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    nvm did it wrong, yeah it works! :)
  11. vtx1300rider@comcast.net

    vtx1300rider@comcast.net New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or.... just replace the Piano.wav file in the windows root dir with any .wav file with active sync explore app. Much easier and faster than editing the registry (not to mention safer), only drawback is you are limited to .wav files.

    Jesse
  12. factoid junkie

    factoid junkie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    tried to do this, but get error message saying I don't have permission. created .wav file, named Piano, no go. any ideas?
  13. vtx1300rider@comcast.net

    vtx1300rider@comcast.net New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    I named my new sound piano.wav and placed it on the sd card with active sync explorer, as you can't explore the windows dir from active sync (at least mine won't) you use the on board file manager to move the file from the sd card to the windows dir. You will be asked if you want to overwrite the existing file. Note, you might want to save a copy if the orignal piano sound file somewhere before overwriting it.

    Jesse
  14. factoid junkie

    factoid junkie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks

    this did the trick - didn't think to use file manager. thanks!
  15. livnlarge

    livnlarge New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Changed startup sound with .mp3

    Hey so I got a bit ballsy and decided to try to change the startup sound to a .mp3 file knowing that it could quite possibly screw up my startup process locking me out of the phone...

    I just read here though that someone has already tried doing it and mentioned that it can only use .wav files... My .mp3 files plays.. but it doesnt sound anything like it should. I'm trying to find my sound (transformers) in .wav format but so far no luck..

    Anyone know why it only allows .wav files and also where can i find a transformers .wav file??? Thanks
  16. docmac129

    docmac129 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1
    This thread does NOT belong in the Homescreen/Wallpaper section. Time for Mod Squad action.
  17. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    this thread WAS also from 2006 until earlier today:wink:
  18. bmar29

    bmar29 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    just curious but what have you guys changed your sounds to?
  19. docmac129

    docmac129 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1
    Following this logic, I should post a HS related question in the software section, & in 2 years it will be allowed?? Is there some kind of grandfather clause?? Just kidding Scott!! I just wish people would look for the appropriate section of this forum to post their questions. Maybe I should take a day or two off like Rb.
  20. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    well technically i wasnt a mod in 06...
    hell i wasnt even a member:tounge:

Share This Page