Microsoft Mesh

Discussion in 'Windows Phone Software' started by n99hockey, Jul 16, 2008.

  1. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    ah well i stand corrected
    thank you sir
  2. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    sure thing © you :}
  3. ptlee8202

    ptlee8202 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mesh will also let you remote desktop (take control) from one pc to another in your mesh. Doubt that feature will be in the mobile client though.
  4. miro

    miro New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    The mobile sync client is now available from mesh.com. I installed it, but so far I am unable to log in. When I launch the program I get this error:
    "some content cannot be displayed due to the smartphone security settings."

    The sign in screen still appears, but every time I click sign in it says:

    "Connection failed. unable to validate user."

    I've been using m.mesh.com for a while so I know my account works. Hopefully it's just early release glitches...

    Update: The mesh forums just got a post from someone on the development team that confirms this is an issue, they are working on a fix now.
  5. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't seem to find the install link. Any ideas?

    Also, I never got the Remote Desktop feature to work. I have LogMeIn, so it's not a huge deal, but I went through the help suggestions and everything seems to be in order. I just like my programs to work to their fullest.
  6. miro

    miro New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just go to m.mesh.com from your phone (those of you who haven't already signed up for Mesh, you have to register from a computer first), once you log in it should take you to a screen that prompts you to download. They were only offering limited slots for the mobile preview, so they may already be full. As of this morning they still don't appear to have the validation problem worked out.

    I've been using the remote desktop for weeks and haven't had any problems with it (Vista Ultimate 32bit). I would try again, there's also a new RD client today as well, so it's possible your issue has been resolved.

    They also finally implemented permissions on your mesh folders, so you can invite other users but restrict them to view or contribute instead of them having full control over the folder like before, big improvement.
  7. miro

    miro New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like they have the connection issues fixed:

    http://blogs.msdn.com/LiveMesh/

    I have already installed the updated CAB and so far so good. It takes a minute or two to add your phone to the mesh, but it shows up online instantly. By default your Mobile Pictures folder is added, but it looks like you can add any other folder from your phone and it immediately starts syncing.

    Upload is moderately slow from the phone. It also looks like folders you have from other devices appear as links which take you to the regular mesh mobile site. This is nice because your phone won't try to sync all your desktop files, but you still have access to them when needed.
  8. jhalsey205

    jhalsey205 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    still getting

    Connection to Live Mesh failed
    Unable to vailidat the user on Live Mesh. Please your connection settings and Retry, or Cancel to exit.

    I have uninstalled and reinstalled to no avail
  9. miro

    miro New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you re-download the cab? The version number for the updated build is 0.9.3424.6 The one that was released yesterday won't work...
  10. jhalsey205

    jhalsey205 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, that did it. thanks
  11. kareljack

    kareljack Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077
    Likes Received:
    15
    can someone give a direct link to the download? Everytime I go to m.mesh.com I end up in the old file/folder view page and I dont see a download link. Tired of jumping thru these damn hoops.
  12. jhalsey205

    jhalsey205 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    here you go:
    m.mesh.com/install/wm6/LiveMesh.cab
  13. kareljack

    kareljack Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077
    Likes Received:
    15
    Thanks for the link.... unfortunately I'm getting "Setup failed..mobile phone was not added".
    Ahhh Microsoft... competent as usual.
  14. TreeFrog

    TreeFrog Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    the app installed good and fired right up....bummer though...I didn't make the cut in time! I got the "limited users" sorry buddy screen!!
  15. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    odd... I just d/l'ed and installed and got right in, seen it so i'm ready to un-install :}

    potQ9c
  16. kareljack

    kareljack Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077
    Likes Received:
    15
    Still not working for me....
    Looks like I will have to do this from a PC.
  17. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    the d/l and install does not work for you ?
  18. TreeFrog

    TreeFrog Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    really? well i'll hurry and take your spot!
  19. kareljack

    kareljack Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077
    Likes Received:
    15
    Rudeboy, I am still getting that error message.
    I have no idea why it wont add my phone. With my luck I'll finally get it to work then end up hating the app.
  20. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    the error is just the "setup failed" ? that is odd... so it's not the "limited users" error TF is talking about ?

Share This Page