Loading CAB files

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9m' started by DadMan, Sep 24, 2007.

  1. DadMan

    DadMan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loading CAB files

    I am new to this. I've downloaded the latest version of Documents to Go onto my computer. I then moved the entire file - CAB - into the My Documents folder for ActiveSync.

    After ActiveSync I look for Doc to Go, but it is still the older version. Where is the newer version?

    Am I doing something wrong?
  2. DadMan

    DadMan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can I reply to my own post?

    I go into the ActiveSync program and chose "Explore". The CAB. for the Docs to Go is there. Why can't I use it on my phone?
  3. pyrobling

    pyrobling New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    Uninstall the old version through Settings Remove program. If it isn't listed just open the CAB file in your phone and it will do it all for you automatically. If the CAB file is just sitting there you have to open it for anything to happen and install.

    **posted from my Q
  4. Paul G

    Paul G New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    "used" CAB

    when loading programs thru the PC with ActiveSync, where does the CAB file end up on the Q9? I'd like to remove it when done.
    Thanks
  5. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    you can install a cab file from the PC
    you have to copy it to the Q via active sync
    so with that being said the cab file is located where ever you copy it to on the device
  6. Paul G

    Paul G New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes, but if added via an .exe file, is the CAB ever loaded onto the device?
    If so, is it deleted after...or does it remain? If it remains, what is the usual file it's loaded to?
    Thanks
  7. DadMan

    DadMan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've found the CAB files on my Q9M. Can I delete them or do they need to stay on the phone?

    Use file manager, go to my documents, scroll down.
  8. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    if you install an exe then there is no cab file
    the exe file is the installer file

    are they from programs you installed?
    if so then you can delete them from the device but keep the on your PC or your SD card for reinstallation if you need them later on

Share This Page