Keyboard Mapping

Discussion in 'Samsung Saga' started by jmorisey, Mar 15, 2009.

  1. jmorisey

    jmorisey New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    Keyboard Mapping

    Boy, Samsung sure doesn't make it easy to remap keys... not from what I can tell at least. It appears that the keyboard layout is actually a DLL, "kbdmouse.dll". Does anyone have the ability to exract that? I would love to remap the WM &Messaging Keys.

    I have not tried AEButtons yet....

    Jon

    "The only reason I got this damn SAGA was to be able to talk to the wonderfull people on the board, and now no one is talking to me!"
  2. blackmeto

    blackmeto Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,772
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure if that will help lol. I think that guide is for people who don't know how to unzip the downloaded DLL files from the Zip files.
  4. jmorisey

    jmorisey New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    "A" for effort, but I first need to figure out how to DUMP the dll. and is anyone else coming across the problem that the device seems to be "application locked".

    I can't seem to write files to it using ActiveSync
  5. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe copying it and placing it somewhere else before pulling it off the phone?
  6. jmorisey

    jmorisey New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    Resco won't even let me copy it... first time RESCO has rejected me!
  7. larsdennert

    larsdennert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    One simple trick is to rename the Messaging.lnk in the start menu (with file explorer) and then create a new Messaging.lnk that points to the app you want. Then when you push the hard button email it runs your app. That's how I did it on the Q. Make sure there IS a messaging.lnk or you will lock up the phone when you push the button.
  8. jmorisey

    jmorisey New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ya, tried that but it doesn't work on the SAGA. I "think" the keys are hard coded into a file and point to the executables and not the .lnk
  9. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kewl...I'm now one of the wonderful people? <G>

    What do you mean "extract". Can't you just copy it off your phone if you have it there?
  10. jmorisey

    jmorisey New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, its not that simple... The file won't copy, it yells at me and then just makes a 0 byte file.

    I may not even be on the right track here thoug....
  11. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok thanks. If you figure things out, I'd be curious to know about it, but you and a few others are waaaaaaaaaaaay more into phone modding than I am <G>. I simply don't have the time. I'd like to at times, but....
  12. jmorisey

    jmorisey New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did Dump the ROM, but I can't figure out how to open and edit the DLL
  13. larsdennert

    larsdennert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    what did you dump the rom with? Send me the file and I'll see if it can be hex edited to point to a different app. lars@larsdennert.com
  14. cbw20004

    cbw20004 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's that music note key again! I knew I was not the only person that hated it.
  15. jmorisey

    jmorisey New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
  16. jmorisey

    jmorisey New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0

    Sent -- blah blah blah, I didn't have enough characters to send until now...
  17. blackmeto

    blackmeto Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,772
    Likes Received:
    0
  18. larsdennert

    larsdennert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    The keyboard library does not contain a direct link to wmplayer. I looked through the registry and there are too many references in HKCR that could be linked. There is also a likely setting \hklm\software\microsoft\shell\rai
  19. jmorisey

    jmorisey New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for taking time to look at this!

Share This Page