Jbed

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9n' started by Q9Nap, Feb 23, 2009.

  1. Q9Nap

    Q9Nap Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jbed

    I found a jbed in the software section that works on the Nap without cutting off the bottom of the display...

    Original Thread (Thanks to brandon.roeder):

    http://www.everythingq.com/forum/software/new-jbed-28560.html

    I've found that installing it to my 8gb card doesn't work with downloading apps, but works fine when installed on the device. Apparently this is a common issue when using a card > 4gb.
  2. Aixelsyd

    Aixelsyd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Curious which one were using prior to finding this one? Also did you uninstall the old one first or just install this without removing the old one. Thanks for the info tho.

    And could you give some more details as to what you mean by "I've found that installing it to my 8gb card doesn't work with downloading apps".
  3. Q9Nap

    Q9Nap Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was using Esmertec 6.1 heap size fix 3d mod. I uninstalled it first and the jbed folder with appdb subfolder stays after the uninstall; easy to remove with a file manager.

    When installed to the card, pie won't download the .jad;had to use Skyfire. Even then, when I went to install the app, it said I didn't have enough space and to delete some files and try again. I'm guessing it has something to do with the way sd cards > 4gb are formatted. When installed to the device, can download/install apps with no issues.
  4. Aixelsyd

    Aixelsyd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Excellent. Real quick tho I'm assuming after you install this jbed to the phone you then went and downloaded say operamini, Opera, and or gmail directly from the phone using Skyfire seeing as you mentioned you had an issue with PEI.

    So I'm curious which you have installed, and any particular device version you selected seeing as the Nap is never on any list for obvious reasons. Thanks for the help/input.
  5. Q9Nap

    Q9Nap Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, once I installed to device, I can dl just fine with pie. Have installed only one app, an old-skool game called Pipes, available on getjar. It's one of those apps that has only one version I think, since the dl code (6025) is the same no matter what device you select; makes me wonder why not all apps can be made universal? Anyway, haven't tried any of the other apps that are so useful on our dumbphones, since this phone has all the functionality built in.
    If you have an app with multiple versions, not sure which model to select. Also haven't run a keymapping app yet, but doing so may make it clearer as to which app version to select, as well as for use with JAM to modify app keymapping if necessary.
  6. Aixelsyd

    Aixelsyd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply bud. I'll try installing this later on and downloading gmail to the phone and see how it looks to start and let you know. I know with the other Jbed like you said it cut off the bottom so it will be interesting to see what comes up going this route. And when it comes to browsing I don't know which browser I like so far...lol. so much to choose from with this phone it drives you nutty at times, just to many options at times.

    As for he keymapping I've never really messed with that even back on dumbphones just waited for you gurus over at Hofo to fix them...lol, and then I'd upload them
  7. ParaCAD

    ParaCAD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,685
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ill say the gmail java app isnt half bad. dont really use it regular. But i dont have all my email addresses on my phone. so ill occasionally go there and send out an email.

    potq9h
  8. Aixelsyd

    Aixelsyd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea same boat I'm in kinda. After I got my Nap I setup a new e-mail for the phone only and only a select few have it as I don't want garbage being sent to me all the time like I get in some of my older accounts I've had for year.
  9. eatSleepLaxSoccer3

    eatSleepLaxSoccer3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    first of all, sorry to be noob sauce but is the Nap the Q napoleon? are you guys getting them underground somehow or am I missing something?
    also, I use opera mini on jbed which I found out how to install from the big opera mini thread here and it works great.
    I just downloaded the java gmail 2.0 app and it gets cut off and you can't see the whole menu and wasn't very good in general. I couldn't really tell form this thread but did you figure out a way around this with the other jbed from the posted link?
    between IMAP gmail thru the Q's email and the WAP gmail site, the java gmail isn't a huge need but it looks cool
  10. Aixelsyd

    Aixelsyd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes when you see folks talking Nap they are in fact discussing the Napoleon.

    as for the gmail issue being cut off I had the same issue myself. It has to do with the version of jbed installed on your device. To correct mine being cut off I did a Master Reset to my Nap. Then I installed this jbed program in place of the copy I had original. After which I installed the most recent gmail.jad and all is good to go without being cutoff anymore.

    Edit: Here is a link to the gmail.jad I used that is not cutoff after you install this jbed in place of what you are using.

    http://www.everythingq.com/forum/256741-post4.html

    Curious tho what jbed version or file should I say do you currently have installed?
  11. Q9Nap

    Q9Nap Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    I noticed a bug with this jbed where out of the blue, the font changes from system default to dingbats or some similar nonsense font. Everything still works, just can't make sense of text. It has happened twice so far.
  12. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^^wahhhaaaahhhh....dingbats! Love it!

    (wingdings???)
  13. Aixelsyd

    Aixelsyd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    guess I've been lucky so far then as that has not happened to me yet.
  14. Q9Nap

    Q9Nap Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Opera Mini with Jbed Rose

    Is anyone using Opera Mini with this Jbed Rose?
    If i use the unsigned version of OM, of course i get the permissions prompt every time.
    If i mod the domain to 'tckmax' in selector.utf, i stop getting the prompt, BUT when i try to enter something in the address bar, the first keypress is repeated indefinitely until i exit the app. The same thing happens when i use the multi-certification version without modifying the domain in selector.utf.
    Any ideas on why this is happening or even better, how to fix it?
    I've already considered using another jbed, but if it doesn't display a full screen, it isn't really worth it to me.
  15. Aixelsyd

    Aixelsyd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use it one in a blue moon myself. However I don't recall what version I have installed on mine tho. Currently I don't have my Nap active but I will be going back to it this weekend at some point tho once I get it all reset with all the programs and stuff. When I do I'll look as see what I've got and get back to ya.
  16. GoldMembr

    GoldMembr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use this one never had a problem or nags. I is 3 quarter of the screen on the jbed main menu but after running a game or app it is full screen.

    http://www.mediafire.com/?mryznkzuyyn
  17. Q9Nap

    Q9Nap Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found another Jbed that doesn't have the display glitch and also doesn't have issues with text input with Opera Mini 4.2:

    EsmertecJbed20080222.3.1.SP.cab

    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=Q706E58N

    I tried installing Opera Mini 5 beta and interestingly the Opera site recognized the device as the A4500. It installed fine, but on the 'Accept' page, the softkeys to accept or cancel did not work and neither did any keyboard keys.
  18. CellZealot

    CellZealot New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the OM 5 beta running successfully on the Jbed Rose as of today.

    Seems to work pretty well but you have to disable the Inline editing or else the first key input repeats and loads the buffer.

    I had been using the Jbed you posted above for OM4.2 and it worked very well.

    Jbed Rose appears newer and has a better interface and icon. Haven't had time to really look into any troubleshooting or bug finding.
  19. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey CZ. Does Rose have versions? I have one on my apps page and have wondered if it is the best.

    I don't know why people bother with this when Opera 8.65 is only $24 but I like to keep up.
  20. Q9Nap

    Q9Nap Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have Opera Mobile and the keygen and i'm not a fan. IMO Opera Mini is much better; way faster & the single menu layout is more intuitive than the dual softkey menus of Opera Mobile. Just my .02

    @CellZealot:
    How do you disable the inline editing?

Share This Page