Internet via bluetooth: possible?

Discussion in 'Bluetooth' started by Rick Eloy, Aug 5, 2007.

1. Rick Eloy

Rick Eloy New Member

Internet via bluetooth: possible?

Hi, folks!
    I'm new to the Q, and was kind of upset by the lack of wi-fi. I've read that the Q is not exactly compatible with miniSD WI-FI adapters (power supply?), so I was wondering if I couldn't maybe connect my Q to the internet using bluetooth. It may sound stupid, but I was able to get 2 desktop machines connect via bluetooth just like in a regular network, so maybe I could do the same with my Q. Any thoughts?
    Cheers!
    Rick
  2. DrQ

DrQ New Member

Should work in theory. When I connect via USB with active sync and connect to the web on my Q it uses my laptop's WiFi connection rather than EVDO. So if you Active sync via Bluetooth the Q should still surf via the PC's connection.

Although I can't imagine my wanting to surf or stream on the Q with my PC right there. Maybe if someone else is on the PC you could use the Q at the same time. I would definately rather surf or stream on my laptop though. And you couldn't do it on a remote WiFi hotspot without an ActiveSync partnership.
  3. Rick Eloy

Rick Eloy New Member

Well, of course it doesn't replace a good WIFI connection, but it would be sort of a workaround at home, for example. And, since USB bluetooth adapters are cheap... Nevertheless, I believe there is no choice for us Q'ers, right? No WiFi... :(
  4. Eugene

Eugene New Member

What range has anyone gotten with bluetooth If I plug a USB bluetooth adapter in my little server sitting in the other end of the room will I be able to connect?
  5. DrQ

DrQ New Member

10 meters/33 feet is what the spec says but that's really line of site. I get that with most of my bluetooth so across the room should be OK
  6. Eugene

Eugene New Member