Internet Connection Problems

Discussion in 'Motorola Q' started by idiotec, Dec 8, 2006.

  1. idiotec

    idiotec New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Internet Connection Problems

    Yesterday my Q completely lost power and ever since, I have not been able to connect to the internet or get email. When I try to connect I get "Your Internet connection is not configured properly. Please verify your settings in Data Connections."

    I have checked all the settings and everything seems OK.

    Is this related to the Q loosing power?

    Any ideas on how to get this thing to connect again?

    Thanks in advance.
  2. TAG1976

    TAG1976 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dial *228 and hit send. This is mainly used to reprogram and upgrade your roaming area, but ive seen better web performance after the process as well. If this does not work, I would call your carrier, and let them do a diagnostic in house.
  3. JeffCarlin

    JeffCarlin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem here (*228 did not fix)...what is "Data Connections"???
  4. pyrobling

    pyrobling New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you upgrade from another EV-DO device?

    If you did...that phone needs to be off before you do the *228 option 1. If it is your initial programming....push *22890...this is the direct program that we use.


    -Adam @ VZW
  5. JeffCarlin

    JeffCarlin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I've had the Q for a few weeks and it has been operating properly. Problem just started today.
  6. pyrobling

    pyrobling New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    settings correct?

    settings
    connections
    proxy
    VZW Browser

    connects from: the internet
    connects to: wap network
    proxy: gw.vzwwap.com:8080
    type: wap
    username: mobiledevicenumber@vzw3g.com
    password: ? i dunno :)

    -Adam
  7. JeffCarlin

    JeffCarlin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. The settings were all correct. However, I just found that the problem disappears if I disconnect my ActiveSync (unplug from my PC). When I do that, the connection is error-free. Huh??
  8. inf3st

    inf3st New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Edited : I'm a tard.
  9. pyrobling

    pyrobling New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    was just trying to connect through computers internet connection. thats why wouldn't work when connected.
  10. idiotec

    idiotec New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    After an hour on the phone with tech support, they ended up just sending me a new phone.

    If you guys have found a solution, you might want to let Verizon know because they are clueless. :tounge:
  11. YoshTheeGreat

    YoshTheeGreat New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright i just found i have the same problem, except i can't internet when i disconnect from my cpu...
  12. YoshTheeGreat

    YoshTheeGreat New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, well if thats the case can u give me the steps to turning that off. the whole "Getting Internet Thru PC" thing.

Share This Page