I miss my My-Cast weather app.

Discussion in 'Verizon Wireless' started by sixbennetts, Oct 25, 2009.

  1. sixbennetts

    sixbennetts Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    1
    I miss my My-Cast weather app.

    :dft006:unhappy

    Just got my first smartphone, HTC ozone, and already I'm having a small problem, (which is *almost* noticeable among all the delightful pluses these things have to offer).

    With my old Verizon Env2, up arrow got me My-Cast, and two center clicks got me a GREAT animated radar image.

    Tried Weather Watcher but wasn't too crazy 'bout it.

    I know I can get an earlier version right from their homepage, (through Handango), but has anybody been able to get their new version working on the Ozone?

    How about some suggestions for a comparable app? I figured out how to assign a speeddial to an app, so the quick access is solved, I just need to find an app that will open to the animated radar screen.

    Any help?

    Thanks!

    (Great little forum you got here, I predict quick growth soon with Verizon giving these Ozones away like they are!)
  2. jjmorgan64

    jjmorgan64 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    how about pocketweather

    www.sbsh.net or the app store here. you can set the screen it opens to.

    pair it with facade even better

    jm
  3. sixbennetts

    sixbennetts Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks, I'm playing with it now! Man is THAT one complicated little program!

    I don't think I downloaded the right one, though. It seems to have touchscreen controls on the radar screen to get an animated image, obviously a no-go on the Ozone!

    Which version would be best for me?
  4. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Very complicated. It got London then wouldn't update anymore.

    * Got it.

    Attached Files:

  5. jjmorgan64

    jjmorgan64 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,215
    Likes Received:
    1
    I couldn't get the radar to animate either. You might think Menu>View>Start would do it but nothing happened.

    Just getting it to show up took some exploring. Images had to be checked somewhere.
  7. sixbennetts

    sixbennetts Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's as far as I got, too. I figured out how to add cities, get the updates, but I can't get the animated radar. Tried turning qwerty and keypad navagations both on and off, played with all the keys on the phone, nothing.

    JJ and BB, thanks to both of you for helping. I wonder if maybe the hotlinks on the website are messed up, and we're getting the touchscreen version by accident. That would explain the cool bubble-looking video control buttons on the radar screen.

    I'm gonna write them and see if there's a dumbed down version for me! (I went to their forum and did some *light* reading, but those guys are WAY into weather!

    Downloaded from that page, trying it tonight after work, thanks!
  8. gnath9

    gnath9 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went to accuweather.com
    once I got to the animated radar I saved to my favorites. Now I just open explorer and hit favs.
    no need for an app.

    sent from my Q9c
  9. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Menu>View>Start did finally work. I must not have had enough maps loaded.

    I haven't found a way to specify which page you want the app to open with.
  10. jjmorgan64

    jjmorgan64 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I finally got around to figuring out the animation. I know with Facade installed, which i think is a wise installation. I can select the start up view, guess i may not be able to without, sorry. (but then again it may be somewhere in all those menus)

    jm
  11. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Weather Underground's iPod site has a nice animated radar. i.wund.com

    I like PocketWeather because it puts info I want on the homescreen.
  12. sixbennetts

    sixbennetts Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's what I've been doing with My-Cast. I log in and navigate to their web weather, and save it to favorites. Only problem is that with the Ozone, it opens to a large page, so I have to scroll over to it and zoom in.

    I'm gonna play with this app a little more, because what I'm aiming for is a speed dial to bring it up, coupled with a way to open the app right to animated radar, and you've got one touch radar picture, like my old My-Cast was.

    I couldn't find a version of Facade for the Ozone, got a link? I'll try it your way.

    Thanks guys.
  13. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Speed-dial>5>Menu>View>Start is four more button presses than one but is still pretty fast.
  14. jjmorgan64

    jjmorgan64 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    http://software.everythingq.com/productMobile.asp?id=7010

    this should work to ge you to Facade. i like purchasing through this site.
    www.sbsh.net has all of the updated facade 2.0 info along with updated screen shots, the screen shots in our store are still not updated from the old version.

    and yes it will work on the ozone.

    it's got a trial period give it a look and tell me what you think.

    jm
  15. gnath9

    gnath9 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh that kinda sucks. On my Q9c I just open pocket I.E. and its right there on the animated radar screen. No zooming but I do have to scroll down a little.

    sent from my Q9c
  16. sixbennetts

    sixbennetts Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    1
    Lotsa help here guys, and it's really appreciated.

    Trying Facade now, if I like it, I'll be sure to buy it here.
  17. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,215
    Likes Received:
    1

Share This Page