I have Windows Mobile 6.1 !!!! (insert jaw drop) Come and get it !!!!

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9h' started by mexiken, Jul 29, 2008.

  1. crshman

    crshman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    To recap, the recap....the drivers needed for the app can be found here:

    x86 Vista/Xp
    http://rapidshare.com/files/133516779/Handset_USB_Driver_32_v3.5.0.zip

    x64 Vista/Xp
    http://rapidshare.com/files/133631778/Handset_USB_Driver_x64_v3.5.0.zip

    RSD Lite All Versions
    http://www.motorolafans.com/forums/a1200-applications/13457-rsdlite-download-here.html
  2. JPOnion

    JPOnion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a preemptive thanks to everybody involved in this. Fedex shows my Q9h was delivered this afternoon and I'm going to try sneaking out of work early to play with it. Since I don't have anything installed on it yet, obviously, I'm perfectly fine with upgrading right away.

    My first smartphone, I can't wait :)
  3. RJNJC

    RJNJC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it's the 'file manager' you need, you will need to press the |Start| button - all the program icons will show up in the default 'Grid View'. Keep clicking that |start| button till you scroll through all the program icons and see |Applications|. Click on that and you should see the "file manager" there. Click on that and you will see all your files etc.

    Hope I am on the right track for your query.

    :2cool:

    R J
  4. RJNJC

    RJNJC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0

    Your first smartphone, just got smarter!! Enjoy it. I love my Q9H, all the more now!

    :2cool:

    R J
  5. helloq24

    helloq24 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it me or does it seem slower with 6.1, anyone??
  6. p0lye

    p0lye New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    flashing now...wish me luck!
  7. reckoningday

    reckoningday New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    When unlocking the phone, yes.. Any other time, I don't see it.
  8. George Knighton

    George Knighton New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    6.1 seems faster to me, in some places.
  9. JPOnion

    JPOnion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah...it's not working. Here's the steps I've taken so far:

    Installed Device Center and the Motorola drivers then restarted. Installed RSDlite 4.1. Plugged in the Q9, waited for it to show up on the RSD screen, selected the .sbf file and when it loaded up I pressed "Start". It stopped only a few seconds later with this error:

    "failed flashing process. unable to retrieve interface handle (0x7027); phone disconnected"

    Unlike iamthekiller's post on page 10, I didn't get prompted for any drivers. It just wouldn't work. I tried a number of times and always got the same thing.

    So I tried uninstalling 4.1 and went to 4.2. Same thing. So I'm back at 4.1...and now I can't even get the start button to un-grey out, so I've somehow gone a step backwards...

    I'm reading through the thread, but if I'm missing anything or anybody has any ideas that would be great. I'm on Vista 32bit.

    EDIT: OK, now I can get it to start again, but it's still stopping at the same error... How did anybody get this working?

    EDIT2: I'm updating Vista right now, I'll give it another shot. Maybe one of the updates that came out since I last updated (didn't realize it's been this long) is the key?
  10. kareljack

    kareljack Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077
    Likes Received:
    15
    Opera mobile takes a bit longer to start 'streaming' the data once a link has been clicked. Probably just a quirk with my phone.
  11. mtnmedic

    mtnmedic New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    worked perfectly

    So I took my time, read through all the posts (as difficult as it was) and downloaded everything first and ran the RSD, plugged my phone in and away it went...No issues at all.

    ...except that even with Skype 6.2 I had to manually reinstall everything, but I have done it enough times to do it quickly.

    Thanks for everyone who went before me.
  12. helloq24

    helloq24 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0

    I dont know I notice it lags alot more than before, I wonder why?
  13. Craigster

    Craigster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    6.1 ... I'm Ready!

    I'm ready to flash it, whenever you provide the link. You are da man...
  14. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    um....its already been posted:wink:
  15. JPOnion

    JPOnion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
  16. JPOnion

    JPOnion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just updated Vista with every update it said I didn't have yet, and it still does the same thing... I've only got this one Vista box, I can't try on another PC. Argh! :(

    Hmm, maybe if my roommate comes back tonight I can use his...
  17. NOSintake

    NOSintake New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone tried to downgrade? i know this is a crazy idea...also, what about bought programs or installed programs in general? ive got an alarm with a homescreen plug-in..will that go away with the update?
  18. reckoningday

    reckoningday New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, everything will go away when you update. You may want to looking into Sprite Backup if you don't want to lose anything.
  19. Roadie

    Roadie New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's a drunken play-by-play by a newb

    Okay, I'm a complete phobic on this kind of stuff - install this, unzip that, am I going to brick my phone? Crap. I don't do this stuff well, and the anxiety is killing me.

    Waiting....

    RSD is in process...

    45% executed....

    Should I be doing this after 2 glasses of wine, at 10:45 PM when I'm really tired? Probably not.

    71%....

    96%.... Screen says "writing the SOL was successful" (Sh!t out of luck..wha???)

    Phone is rebooting. Did it work?

    DO NOT TURN OFF THE PHONE UNTIL THIS PROCESS IS COMPLETE!!! (Ummm...okay!)

    RSD says to manually power up the phone, but RJNJC's post that I'm following says "no!"

    Phone has rebooted - looks sooooo cool!!

    So, the moral of the story is, if a drunken, tired newb can follow the directions, anyone can.

    Roadie

    PS - thanks, y'all!
  20. JPOnion

    JPOnion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, there was just something wrong with my Vista setup, dunno what it is. I got permission to use my roommates XP Pro laptop. Followed the same exact steps and it worked. Looks really nice!

    Now to start customizing. Since this phone is only a few hours old, and all that time was spent getting it upgraded, I have no idea what all to put on there. First things first, though...must get PocketSNES working ;)

Share This Page