HOW TO: Turn EVDO on/off on moto q 9m

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9h' started by budhabong, Nov 12, 2007.

  1. budhabong

    budhabong New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    HOW TO: Turn EVDO on/off on moto q 9m

    Took me a while but its very simple,

    follow this instructions step by step, don't wander off to look at other menu options, it could mess up your phone baddly.

    first enter

    ##00**83786633* +SEND

    "00000" is the code

    in that menu go to test mode and Activate(enable) field test mode

    after that exit all menus and go back to the Home screen,

    Now your "field test mode" menu is enable

    Now enter ##* +SEND to enter "Field Test Mode"

    Go to Field Test Menu (option "B")

    (don't get distracted, "GPS DOESN'T WORK", moto Q and Q9m have aGPS, its a fake GPS chip for 911 location only)

    NOW go down to HDR Preference: Automatic (option "E")
    and select your preference

    Automatic: Default, switches between evdo and cdma

    CDMA Only: stops data calls

    EVDO Only: Stops any voice Calls except data, (excellent for faster broadband speeds when using your phone as a modem)

    Exit the menu and there you have it.

    Just make sure if your are using EVDO Only for modem use, to restore it back to automatic if you want to receive calls again. only enter ##* +SEND to enter the menu again.
  2. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    i updated the title, hope you don't mind.
  3. budhabong

    budhabong New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    The title defenitly looks better now, Thanks.
  4. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    that's what i thought also.... np.
  5. bonchien

    bonchien New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why do you enter test mode before switching to EVDO only?

    I've been following these instructions for a while, but it was a pain switching to test mode, enabling EVDO only, turning off test mode, and doing everything vice-versa after ending a data session. I tried entering ##* and switching to EVDO only without going into test mode first. The phone behaves just the same as if test mode was enabled. I get EVDO data only, and when I'm done, I switch back to automatic. So my question is, what is the point of entering test mode before changing the HDR Preference and is there any harm in doing it without entering test mode first? I'm not seeing any issues with changing the HDR preference without entering test mode first.
  6. budhabong

    budhabong New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0


    It really depends on the phone.
    I got a second motoq9m and this time I didn't need to access test mode for the EVDO onlyoption, i only entered ##* and it let me right in .

    this guide helps if you cant access HDR by only entering ##*.
  7. U-2

    U-2 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Q9h in the /windows folder has bandselect.exe.
    It is not the same as test mode, I think, but I am using it to disable 3G to save the battery life.
  8. xalias51

    xalias51 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Shouldn't this be in the Q9M group? The Q9h is GSM and doesn't work on CDMA/EVDO.
  9. mexiken

    mexiken New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,725
    Likes Received:
    0
    VERY true. I was wondering the same thing last night....mods....come on now....:tounge:

Share This Page