How to save SIM contacts on phone memory

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9h' started by wakeborder556, May 10, 2008.

  1. wakeborder556

    wakeborder556 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    How to save SIM contacts on phone memory

    How do you save sim contacts on phone memory? On my last phone there was a SIM manager program that was awesome. Thanks.
  2. bobby-n

    bobby-n New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    3,991
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you want to backup your contats on your storage card then go 2 file manager copy pim.vol to your storage card. and you can copy it back if u ever have to do a master reset.
  3. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    but that's not so much for the sim card though. the OP wants to copy the contacts that are on the sim card TO the pim.vol (so they are in the phones memory). Unfortunately I have Sprint (no sim) so I can't be much help here, but I know this was covered in the past. Keep searching, you'll find it.
  4. alchemist80

    alchemist80 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trying to figure out the same thing. I want to add ringtones to my contacts but cant until they (contacts) are on the phones memory as I understand it.


    N/M I figured it out. You have to transfer them all to Outlook.
  5. anyone1979

    anyone1979 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is sim manager for the Q. It's free so, just do a search for it.
    That should take care of your problem.
  6. bobby-n

    bobby-n New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    3,991
    Likes Received:
    0
    o i wasnt aware that the Q had a sim card
  7. the_bay_mafia

    the_bay_mafia New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0

    lol post of the day!
  8. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    well, there are some that don't (Sprint Verizon and Alltel)
  9. Guardian

    Guardian Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you kidding? Where have you been? :wacko:
  10. lilballr2005

    lilballr2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    there's a program floating around on this site somewhere called sim manager that will do that for you. however, after you do that you're left with two things. first of all the motorola q will sort all of your contacts last name, first name automatically. this can be fixed with another program floating around somewhere called contact fix. the other problem is that it will display both the sim card numbers and the phone memory numbers, so you actually have to hack the registry to hide the sim phone numbers. pm me if you look around and cant find the programs id be happy to send them over.
  11. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    Not true. In the Q9h (not sure about other Q's) you can edit each outlook contact to show first name first. Just highlight the contact > menu > edit > File As {scroll all the way down}.

    You can hide sim contacts by going to settings > phone > call options > {un check 'Show Sim Contacts'}.

    You will need the sim manager to make it easier to transfer from sim to phone. But, I would skip the contact fix and regedit.
  12. smokesignls

    smokesignls New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    How'd you transfer them?

    How did you go about transferring them all to outlook? I can't seem to figure it out and I know I must be missing something here.

  13. DUTCH

    DUTCH New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did a search, but couldn't find it. Anyone have a link? TIA
  14. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. rjayflo

    rjayflo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm new here. I just got a Q and been figuring it out nonstop since. i just installed the sim manager from shubaroo, however, after installation i figured how to copy from sim to phone and vice versa. manager makes it easier and faster, but if you have time...go to Contacts > Select Name (center navigation button) > Menu > Scroll down > Chooser either "Save to SIM" or "Save to Contacts". You cannot individually select personal ringtones and picture id if they are saved to SIM, they must be saved to your phone.
  16. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    Yes, very true. But this method only offers away to transfer 1 contact at a time. Could be very time consuming if you have a lot of phone numbers. The sim manager comes in handy when you want to do a mass transfer.

    And welcome to EQ! :laugh2:
  17. rjayflo

    rjayflo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    true...that's why i mentioned if you have time on your hands lol
  18. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    I'm not gonna lie... when I first got the phone I had transferred about half my contacts before I found out about this app. I have about 200 contacts. I was a was a little annoyed when I discovered sim manager. LOL!
  19. Keithdhanson

    Keithdhanson New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Keith

    Could you forward me copies of these programs. I would greatly appreciate it.
    Thank you, Keith!
  20. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page