How on earth do I delete a windows live account from my phone?

Discussion in 'Windows Phone 7' started by Ben Walker, Nov 2, 2011.

  1. Ben Walker

    Ben Walker Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have changed my log in details on Windows live (I used to sign in with a different email address and now I sign in with a hotmail one)
    So I had to set up a new windows live account on the phone.
    But now I cant get rid of the old account.
    If I keep my finger on any of the accounts I have set up, I get the option to synchronize or to delete.
    But with the defunct windows live account I only get the option to synchronize.
    I don't get it.
    I can delete the windows live account I have just set up so it's obviously not that you simply cant delete a windows live account from your phone.
    I just want to get rid of this account from my 'accounts and email' menu but I can't.
    Any help gratefully received.
  2. Ben Walker

    Ben Walker Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still can't get this to work.
    It means I can't download apps from zune because it's asking me to sign in with the id the phone was set up on.
    Very painful.
    Any help truly gratefully received!
  3. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    When you first set up your phone, the Windows Live ID you enter is your primary account and is deeply integrated into the phone. This is associated to purchases, downloads, skydrive, etc. So unfortunately, you have to do a factory reset and start over again.
  4. Ben Walker

    Ben Walker Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ouch!
    Ouch!
    Thanks for that Ninjaap.
    so, do you know why I can't just log in using my old account details?
    I don't think I deleted the old windows live account in any way. All I did was change the email address associated with it.
    So why can't I just keep on using the old log in?
    And is there ANY way of not doing a factory reset?
    And if there isn't, what can you advise me with the factory reset?
    Thanks for your help and advice man.

Share This Page