How can the music in storage card show as ringtones

Discussion in 'Moto Q Hacks' started by tylerstud25, Sep 13, 2007.

  1. tylerstud25

    tylerstud25 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    How can the music in storage card show as ringtones

    Is there a way to make the phone look in two directories. I have tried a semi colon to see if i could add my music on the storage card to it. But i wont recognize the files if i do that. i just dont want to have my ringtones on my phone memory i'd rather have it on my storage card.
  2. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    in order for it to recognize sound files on the SD card they CANT be in any folders
    they just have to be loose files then you will be able to see them
  3. tylerstud25

    tylerstud25 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks because i had it working before and then i organized stuff and now it does not work.
  4. Aries

    Aries New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^ also.. you should get some type of music editing program(Cool Edit,Sound Forge..ect) if you dont have one already and jus make 15 to 25 sec clips of the tracks you want to use as your ringtone..then simply drop them into the sounds folder on the device itself using active sync...if your trying to use those full tracks as say your text message ringtone the track will keep playing and playing and there's no way to stop it...it kinda sucks...even most of my 15 sec clips i made are annoying at times when i get a text and dont want my phone blaring....im now using a stock single beep for text messages because of this...for actual calls their fine though cause you can stop it by simply answering the call.....try it out and youll see whut i mean...
  5. Der Alta

    Der Alta New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,742
    Likes Received:
    0
    turning the volume down hasn't worked? When I get a call from the wife that I don't want to answer, I spin the slider on the side, and it mutes he ring one. It'll cycle through the tone and then to vmail as opposed to dumping direct to vmail with "ignore"
  6. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    you can have the whole song if you want...BUT it will only play 30 seconds of it before it hits the voicemail...so you dont HAVE to edit them but you can to decrease the file size
    but you are correct regarding texts...pic a short tune 3 -5 seconds since you cant silence them
  7. Aries

    Aries New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought this too, then i realized that at the start of most songs theres usually at least 2 seconds of silence and then a intro to the song...so editing them basically allows you to jus use the portion of the song youd like to use rather than being stuck with the silence/intro of any song...for example edit the tracks chorus(hook) and use jus that as the ringtone....jus some ideas to play with...
  8. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    yup this is true!
    and a free editing software you can use is Audacity
  9. rythmbynemisis

    rythmbynemisis New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0

    This is what i did on my Q9M
    -Copy My Documents folder from your phone - to Storage Card
    -Then add Ringtones & MP3s to /Storage Card/My Documents/My Ringtones

    = ) You will have all your MP3s as ringtones.
  10. casemods

    casemods New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's what I do.

    Copy the mp3 to windows directory.

    rename it to something simple.

    Then with the registry editor that you edit from the Q, you have to add to the list.

    I'll post exactly what I do when I remember how I did it, lol.
  11. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    isn't that long way home ?
  12. Dav818

    Dav818 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    they cannot be loose itey have to be in a folder called My Documents
  13. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    on your storage card?
    that would be incorrect...they have to be loose
  14. BIGD

    BIGD New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats correct cuz i have them oon my sd card in folder called My Documents and there is something that u have to do in the registry so the phone will look for them in the registry . As soon as i find out what is it i'll post it .
  15. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    why edit the registry to have it look in a folder when you can just put the few you want as a ringtone loose and it just finds it....i suppose to each there own
  16. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you can stuff them in a directory it sure looks more organized :}
  17. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    true but then you have to mess with the registry...
    to much work for a ringtone :tounge:
  18. BIGD

    BIGD New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah but the thing is why make chaos in SD card when u can do everything nice and clear . dont u think so ? :)
  19. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    i dont know about chaos....
    so i have a few loose mp3 in your root directory and then everything else in folders (i dont use my Q as an mp3 player anyway) i dont know...just my personal preference
  20. BIGD

    BIGD New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    :) your choice :)

Share This Page