Help With Pim.Vol

Discussion in 'Motorola Q' started by Verapakill, Mar 28, 2008.

  1. Verapakill

    Verapakill New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Help With Pim.Vol

    Ok so i have the pim.vol document on my computer and when i try to put it in the phone folder it ask would you like to replace and i click yes to all then it says that the phone has stopped responding or has been disconnected but its still connected and is working just fine help me i want my contacts
  2. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    move it to another folder on the Q before moving it to the correct locatin

    -Sent from my Q
  3. Verapakill

    Verapakill New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just tried that and it copied to the phone but when i tried to move it to the proper location it gave me the same notice about it not being connected or stopped working
  4. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    try to use total commander or resco to move the file

    -Sent from my Q
  5. Verapakill

    Verapakill New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    are those programs that go on the computer or on the phone?
  6. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    on the phone

    -Sent from my Q
  7. Verapakill

    Verapakill New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok i will look those up right now and let you know what i find out
  8. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    ok good deal
    total commander is free

    -Sent from my Q
  9. Verapakill

    Verapakill New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    well i just tried that as well and it said it could not overwrite can i change the name?
  10. Outforit

    Outforit New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is what i had to do with my Q9h. Changed the name of the old Pim.vol to........well.........old, then i copied the good pim to the same location as the old. I think i then soft-rest the phone and it showed my new contacts and then deleted the "old" file. I also used the phone's file mgr for this

    hope this helps

    Steve
  11. Verapakill

    Verapakill New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will give that a shot right now thanks
  12. Outforit

    Outforit New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got my fingers crossed for you............lol

    Steve
  13. Verapakill

    Verapakill New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    well unless i did it wrong then it did not work

    Heres what i did from what i understood i changed the pim that i want on my phone to oldpim.vol then i loaded it to the the phone and changed the pim that was already on the phone to oldderpim.vol and changed the oldpim.vol to the normal pim.vol and soft reset the phone and now i cant even get into my contacts
  14. Outforit

    Outforit New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think you did wrong. Keep the good PIM.VOL as that (PIM.VOL) now change the current PIM (Old/Bad/Whatever) to a different name (old).
    now copy the Good PIM.VOL (Pim.vol) to the same place as the now renamed (old). reset the phone and check your contacts.

    does that make any more sense? It looks like you remaned them both. only rename the one you do not want any more.
    Let me know.......It's getting late here on the right coast....lol

    Steve
  15. Verapakill

    Verapakill New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok yeah ill give that a shot i did it wrong
  16. Verapakill

    Verapakill New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    it didnt work like that either so i guess im screwed and wont get my contacts
  17. Outforit

    Outforit New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    after you copied the pim.vol to the plase the old pim was. Did you turn the phone off and then on again?

    Steve
  18. Verapakill

    Verapakill New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes i did i turned it off and took the battery out for 15-20 seconds and put it back in
  19. Outforit

    Outforit New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry then, I don't think i will be of much more help to you. I know how you feel. I had to do a mast clear on my Q9h. I copied the pim to the storage card, and the first 2 or 3 times i tried to restore it.......i had nothing. but it did work for me. but like i said I have the Q9h and it looks like you are using the orginal Q. maybe that is the difference. not sure. but as long as you have the good PIM.VOL keep playing and maybe it will work or someone else a little brighter (or not as tired) as me will come along and be of more help

    Best of Luck
    Steve
  20. Verapakill

    Verapakill New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for your help i am going to try a master reset right now and then try your method again and see what happens thanks again

Share This Page