Having Trouble Disabling Shutter Sound

Discussion in 'Moto Q Hacks' started by MattQ9h, Nov 5, 2008.

  1. MattQ9h

    MattQ9h New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Having Trouble Disabling Shutter Sound

    Ive tried 2 different hacks and i still cant change/remove the shutter sound. it keeps on telling me access is denied. any reason why? here are the 2 hacks i tried.

    1. \HKEY_local_machne\system\pictures\camera\oem\soundfile
      - change string value from: \windows\shuttersound_02_secs.wav
      - to say: \windows\*none*
    2. \HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\Pictures\Camera\OEM and change the value of "ForceShutterSound" from 1 to 0.
  2. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    welcome aboard...

    is the Q unlocked ? 2 apps for that on my apps page (HTC Unlock and AEConfig)
  3. mike250rs

    mike250rs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    14,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    fyi...some of the Q9 have trouble killing the shutter sound. The hack doesn't stick and it goes off at random


    some have tried replacing the .wav file with a 1 sec blank one.
  4. ParaCAD

    ParaCAD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,685
    Likes Received:
    0
    Instead of *none* just leave it blank...try that. Ive seen that recommended.

    May not need to do both...i just did the first you mentioned. I typed *none* power cycled the phone..it disabled my camera button..so i typed back in the .wav file, and rebooted. The button worked again, but the sound was gone...its was weird but it worked for my q9.
  5. san_casteabro

    san_casteabro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not

    No i tried these hacks but same error that I posted, when i accept changes to registry doesnt save these changes and returns to same value that had before :angry:

    Another idea, i haven't tried the 1 sec blank wav file, i will keep it in mind.:embarassed:
  6. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    are you unlocked?
  7. san_casteabro

    san_casteabro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    How can i know if the phone is locked or unlocked?
    thank you :gasp:
  8. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    have you ever installed
    AEConfig from RBs app page?
  9. san_casteabro

    san_casteabro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes sir, i have installed AEConfig, PHM Registry Editor, Resco Registry Editor and can't disable the value using both registry editors, by the way PHM shows an error that says Can't perform this operation. Do you know something about this?

    Thank You
  10. ParaCAD

    ParaCAD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,685
    Likes Received:
    0
    instead of *none* just leave it blank and save...this is what worked for me.

    posted via q
    AJ
  11. san_casteabro

    san_casteabro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the tip but I've already tried it with no results, even i tried just removing the extension (.wav).

    :(

Share This Page