Has anyone used Q9c to browse internet without paying data plan with verizonwireless.

Discussion in 'Moto Q Hacks' started by alex46015, Jan 10, 2009.

  1. alex46015

    alex46015 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone used Q9c to browse internet without paying data plan with verizonwireless.

    I just need check email or read news occasionally outdoor , how can I use Qc access internet without paying monthly fee for verizonwireless? thanks.
  2. brandon.roeder

    brandon.roeder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    umm..if there was a way..everyone would do it..

    And igo ahead and use it, but expect lots of $ to start dissapearing from your wallet.

    :)

    potq
  3. alex46015

    alex46015 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    some guys can use laptop connect internet through cellphone,without pay, what is the difference?

  4. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    you cant do it with this phone not possible

    if you want free internet get a wifi card

    end of story

    -Sent from my Q9n
  5. TimTheGreat

    TimTheGreat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    The difference is that you need a data plan to connect a PC to the internet through a phone. The PC is essentially using the phone's data plan to connect. You can't browse the internet on the phone for free since your cell connection is metered.
  6. thefourthdoctor

    thefourthdoctor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, you either need a wifi card for your Q or use your comp's internet connection to browse on your Q. Both ways means the "outdoors" is limited to your backyard or an open access point.
  7. vettegofast

    vettegofast New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is this wifi card? I thought the Q couldnt have wifi.
  8. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    thats why we said wifi CARD
    wifi is not native to the Q and must use a wifi card to have access to wifi access

    many many threads on this

    -Sent from my Q9n
  9. BabyJesus07

    BabyJesus07 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible to get internet access through active sync via bluetooth?
  10. brandon.roeder

    brandon.roeder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think so..
  11. infernox51

    infernox51 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    when my wife and I switched to vzw, we got the lg dare phones with the unlimited data plan etc. about a week laer we both decided that we wanted real keyboards, so she traded hers for the voyager and I traded mine for the q9c. the verizon rep hooked mine up to the data plan I had on the dare...not the smartphone data plan. I noticed the error and took the phone back into the store to make sure I wouldn't get an astronomical bill in the mail in a year or something. the manager checked my account on their system and said everything was good to go...they messed up....I get a free smartphone data plan. in the end I don't think I ended up getting any spectacular deal or anything...cause im pretty sure our onthly charges would be the same either way (corporate discount plan).
  12. kcsport

    kcsport New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes you can use a bluetooth connection with activesync to get o the enternet. Also for free internet you need to use qnc. Only the regular Q can do this but there are other brands able also.

    Sent from Q
  13. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    sure if you near a computer at all times thats always hooked up to the net but at that point why not just use the PC
  14. kcsport

    kcsport New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just letting them know it is possible.
  15. darkdomino

    darkdomino New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it is ... a popular program PDAnet will let you tether your 3G connection to your laptop via bluetooth (if your laptop has bluetooth of course)

    Do a google search for "PDAnet"

Share This Page