GPS question

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9h' started by Blacknomad, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. j0be

    j0be New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0

    I guess it might be fair to note that the program is for Windows Mobile 6.0, and doesn't claim to work on 6.1 (though my 6.1 didn't need any configuration to work).

    Google found this.

    I'd use the settings in the picture.

    Good luck.
  2. msestina

    msestina New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    gps settings

    I read through thread in your link. Still not working with LiveSearch
    The thread mentions GPS test fixed it. How do I use that?

    I'm running Win Mobile 6.0.

    I used the GPS settings:
    Prgm Port COM3
    Hdwr Port: None
    Baud: 9600
    Check, Auto Manage.

    TIA
  3. msestina

    msestina New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. j0be

    j0be New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I never used LiveSearch or Google maps (no data plan), but I'd imagine somewhere in the LiveSearch settings you'll find a way to set it to something along the lines of "GPS Intermediate Driver", which is what WM6 uses to access an internal GPS.

    GPS Test was a really simple program that could show you how many satellites you were tracking and what your fix was. As I recall (and I may be misremembering some things), some folks would start up GPS Test and let it run in the background, then start Google Maps or LiveSearch, etc and they would find the gps.

    Of course, I also think I remember people not needing to do that once they had the official Microsoft cab. Trial and error, I suppose.
  5. msestina

    msestina New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got it to work

    Ok, got it to work with LiveSearch anyway, but not Google Maps.
    To summarize for anyone still struggling:

    I'm running Win Mobile 6.0.

    Loaded:
    Microsoft_Smartphone_GPSID_Settings.cab
    gps_Test_1.04.cab

    I used the GPS settings:
    Prgm Port COM3
    Hdwr Port: None
    Baud: 9600
    Check, Auto Manage Running:
    gps_Test_1.04.cab

    found six satellites in ~2 min outside.

    Select "LiveSearch Track Me Using GPS" on my way home

    Hope this helps
  6. ParaCAD

    ParaCAD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,685
    Likes Received:
    0
    funny how with my Q9h...I just installed Gmaps and WLS. Started them up and away they went..Both work fine w/o any issues. Other than the occasionally taking a while to locate.


    good to hear you got it up and running!
  7. MrMike6by9

    MrMike6by9 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine works this way now as well since I updated from 6.0 to 6.1. Google Maps seems almost instantaneous. Both are much, much quicker than with 6.0.
    YMMV

Share This Page