GoogleMapp VS. WindowsLive

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9c' started by earthshaker78, Jul 4, 2008.

  1. miro

    miro New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    the gas prices result list shows an "as of" date. Was that wrong also?
  2. dapperyout

    dapperyout New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeaaa.. gonna retract my original, I just got the turn by turn to work on live. that's friggin awesome. It did misroute me a few times in the past, but no biggie, the way this thing works is the reason for gps in the first place. so I now say live maps, cause with way more features, and turn by turn its way above the google live offering. thanks to this thread I re-visited it and found out what you guys already knew. Shweet!
  3. pkowilich

    pkowilich New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    hate to say it, but i have to agree with the masses. I have an issue with google and gps, its a crapshoot to get it working. sometimes works great, sometimes not. have no issues with live.
  4. jah2707

    jah2707 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just purchased my phone today. Live sounds like the way to go. can someone point me in the direction of a step by step install of it? I really don't know my way arround this phone yet. Thanks
  5. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    download file
    move to Q
    click on file with Q's file manager to install
    done
  6. labear

    labear New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Google feature

    I prefer Google Maps for one feature. If you search for a business, you can save the business directly to your Q9c contacts. When you sync the Q9c to Outlook, it is accessible on your Outlook contacts as well. For some reason, this Google Maps feature doesn’t work on my Blackberry.
  7. jah2707

    jah2707 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have alltel and I can not get the GPR to work? Does anyone else have any problems using live?
  8. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    i believe alltel (like verizon) locked down the GPS
  9. lamakila123

    lamakila123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    at first i would of said google, but after live got an update, it now finds the sattelites faster then google maps. plus all the other obvious features of live. and i like how it follows you on the road (it gives you a countdown in miles to the next turn) while google just shows the dot as your current location.

    google directs you
    LIVE SEARCH HOLDS YOUR HAND AND TAKES YOU...

    i love it:thumbup:
  10. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    I prefer WLS over GM now. WLS has audible turn by turn confirmation; it's a beep. This will at least keep you from constatnly staring at the map. If you go off course, WLS will ask if you want to reroute. What is missing from this update is the ability to text directions to others directly from the WLS itself. I don't know why they removed this option.
  11. rfarrah

    rfarrah New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    0

    USCC locked their GPS down as well. But it DOES work with an external Bluetooth receiver. Got mine on Ebay for $30.
  12. fr4nk1yn

    fr4nk1yn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was lucky enough tooi find Live and uninstalled Google Maps the same day.

    The voice recognition, movies, and the pointer showing direction, even the interface is way above Google. And I'm a Google fan boy.
    Routing seemed good the couple times I used it.
    It even found me a shorter way to one of my flying spots.

    Like mentioned, You can bet Google is working on something to trump them.
  13. BrianFX

    BrianFX New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would warn Live users not to rely on Live 100% of the time for accurate locations/directions. In the past few months, it has led me on 2 wild goose chases into rural corn fields while insisting a major commercial entity existed in that area (in CT & PA). I'm going to keep Google around just to verify things I'm not entirely certain on. :wink:
  14. papped

    papped New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've seen unreliable directions on google maps too. Streets being in the wrong places, saying addresses existed on the wrong streets, etc.

    Neither is perfect.
  15. fr4nk1yn

    fr4nk1yn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    I once had Streets and Trips try to have me drive up a stream that it said was a road on CT.

    Remember how MapQuest used to get the last, or close to, turn opposite and send you off?
    Google maps did that to me a few weeks ago.

    They can't be 100%.
  16. Yoda

    Yoda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Live does have more options and great tools but i prefer google when it comes to the map. Ive had misleading info from both tho
  17. teamsandradee

    teamsandradee New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unlock alltel GPS

    Is there anyway to unlock it?

    Originally Posted by jah2707
    I have alltel and I can not get the GPR to work? Does anyone else have any problems using live?
  18. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    there is still no way to unlock it...yet(?)
    (just like the first time you asked it):wink:
  19. Bozz

    Bozz New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, I had used Google Maps on my Q -- and thought it was pretty cool. After reading this thread I just downloaded Live Search Mobile...............WOW! It is really, really cool.

    Since I just got the Q9c, I haven't tried the GPS usage with it -- I thought I had read somewhere else you can use it with Google and such? This contradicts what I am seeing on here. If it werent raining out I'd go outside and try it.....:gasp:

    Bozz
  20. papped

    papped New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you are on Sprint you can use the GPS.

    You just have to set the apps to use the GPS intermediate driver.

Share This Page