Google Sync

Discussion in 'Windows Phone Software' started by n99hockey, Feb 9, 2009.

  1. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    Google Sync

    check it out for you google users (contacts, calendar) 'exchange like' syncing
    WMExperts.com
  2. darkdomino

    darkdomino New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried repeatedly on my Q9C running WM 6.1 and it refuses to connect via ActiveSync. I have followed google's tutorial to the letter every time.

    Hope someone else has better luck than me. I'm kinda disappointed.
  3. dmm5157

    dmm5157 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm, either the website is not loading a link to download, or I'm retarded.

    I can't see anything that allows me to download the application. Maybe my work computer is blocking something.

    This is the link I'm at. Am I in the wrong place or something?

    http://www.google.com/mobile/winmo/sync.html
  4. darkdomino

    darkdomino New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    0
    From what I understand, you don't download anything. Google basically syncs through Microsoft's activesync service. You need to create an Exchange sync connection via your ActiveSync icon in your phone...

    here's the tutorial Google gives, but I think they did it on an earlier version of Windows Mobile because my menus are a little different.

    http://www.google.com/support/mobile/bin/answer.py?answer=138636&topic=14299

    like I said, I have had no luck getting this to sync at all. Maybe you'll have better luck.
  5. dmm5157

    dmm5157 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help! I knew I was missing something!
  6. kareljack

    kareljack Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077
    Likes Received:
    15
    No point in me using this. When they have email synch, then I'll be interested
  7. mobilerobot

    mobilerobot New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah i tried the set up the it says no domain in the field marked domain but you cant advanced without it:angry:
  8. i4get75

    i4get75 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you put your full email address (i.e. user@gmail.com) in the Username blank, the "Domain" gets grayed out and you can move forward.

    Problem I had was that I had a lot of appointments that filed the sync and when i cleared those out it gave me a 0x80004005 error.
  9. mudvane

    mudvane New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I am trying to change my Server settings, switching from nuevasync.com to use Google sync. The issue is I am unable to change the User name and Domain settings on the User Information page. It will only allow me to change the password. Any ideas why those fields are not editable?

    Update: OK got it I first had to delete the server and then add a new server source.
  10. andy71600

    andy71600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    I followed the instructions to the t on the google site, and everything is working perfectly
  11. bananapants

    bananapants New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a way to Sync more than one calendar? For example, I have my personal calendar, but I also have school and work calendars and I'd like the school calendar on there, but right now it just syncs my main personal one.
  12. pr0lab

    pr0lab New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    The New service provided by google when you can sync your calendar and contacts with your gmail account called google sync doesn't work on my Moto Q. I am following the instructions but it keep on saying that the password is wrong and I have tried 3 different accounts and the message is still the same "please enter password". what shell I do?
    Did anybody tried the new service ?
    Should I enable something in my phone that I don't know off?
    http://www.google.com/support/mobile...36&topic=14299

    Please Help !!!!
  13. johnasp

    johnasp New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found that if I put an underscore in the Domain name it would allow the next button to work and now google exchange works...this is better then sliced bread...
  14. pr0lab

    pr0lab New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got a solution for my problem !
    is should be "youremail@gmail.com" and not "youremail@googlemail.com" as it says in the video guide.
  15. dowop

    dowop New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think this is a great step forward, but if Google actually licensed ActiveSync then they need to add the email component as well. Since your device can only have one OTA activesync server this is only a partial solution.
  16. cjpederson

    cjpederson New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought this was great news when I first heard, but turns out I can't use it. I already have an OTA ActiveSync account set up for my work email (no calendars, tasks, etc, just email). I'd like to use Google Sync for my calendar, but it seems as though I'm stuck with Goosync for now...

    Unless there's something I'm missing??
  17. rfarrah

    rfarrah New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    FWIW, I use google sync to sync with Outlook, One way - from my Outlook Calendar to Google calendar. And of course my Q9c syncs with my Outlook calendar. This keeps it as clean as possible and works well for what I use it for.
  18. Neill

    Neill New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are appointments synched from the primary Google calendar labelled with the calendar name inside Outlook?
  19. cheri

    cheri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    11,615
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just for the sake of saying so...google sync is working on my Q1 (wm 5 of course) after reporting directly to Google after waiting for some assistance through the forums which didnt happen. (I had issues with the password as well)

    I configured server settings as myemailaddress@gmail.com (though the instructions clearly show @googlemail.com on the web page. I really do not remember what the video said.

    If google sync hasnt been working for your Q delete the exchange server, becareful not to delete your pc active sync lol. Then re-follow the steps provided at http://www.google.com/support/mobile/bin/answer.py?answer=138636&topic=14299 using your gmail account info.

    Dont forget to back up your data...but you know that already.
  20. bothersomeaunt

    bothersomeaunt Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    wooo hoooo
    thanks!!!

    I was getting so frustrated with yahoo calendar being one day off. I guess I am gonna have to bite the bullet and make the switch to gmail. I have tried so hard to be loyal to yahoo. They have always been so much better than hotmail. Everyone has been telling me that gmail will impress me if I would just give it a chance. This sync working for my calendar AND contacts has convinced me to give gmail a serious study.

Share This Page