Google Maps

Discussion in 'Windows Phone Software' started by n99hockey, Dec 2, 2009.

  1. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
  2. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    here is a WMExperts article on it

    [URL="http://www.wmexperts.com/google-maps-mobile-hits-version-33-syncs-starred-items-desktop]via WMExperts[/URL]
  3. kareljack

    kareljack Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077
    Likes Received:
    15
    I am seeing one issue but I am not sure if anyone else can replicate this.
    The app crashes *every* time I select 'Layers' in the menu.
  4. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    just the option layers under menu or a specific item in the layers menu?
    i can open it just fine
  5. kareljack

    kareljack Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077
    Likes Received:
    15
    Just clicking on the option for Layers crashes it.
    Downloaded it again and reinstalled. Same problem.
    Well, it's not like I really need the new feature, so I will go back to the previous version.
  6. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    thats very odd...
    and your running WM6.1 on the Q9h not that 6.5 version right?
  7. Kingfish

    Kingfish Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same thing for me on the Saga.
  8. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    what WM version are you running?
  9. regression

    regression New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. txter

    txter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,749
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just DLd it and no problems with layers so far here....she must just like me more...sorry
  11. kareljack

    kareljack Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077
    Likes Received:
    15
  12. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    did that make you lose all your saved places?
  13. regression

    regression New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    I reset my Google Maps and my starred places were preserved.
  14. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    good to know!
  15. regression

    regression New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hopefully we will not have to worry about loosing them since they are synced to our Google accounts. At least, that is, in a perfect world.

    I don't have time now, but I need to check out the Data Liberation Front to see if you can export your starred places just in case there is a problem with Google's servers.....

    http://www.dataliberation.org/google/maps
  16. Kingfish

    Kingfish Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    WM 6.1 Pro

    Edit: Guess I should have read the rest of the thread huh?
  17. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    i hate this build!

    the street names and location names look so cartoon-like, they are so large, if i am in a community and i am using it i cant see some of the streets because the names are so large on the damn map!

    not to mention the 'my location' that was good in the previous build actually put me on roads, where as this one is showing me going through homes!

    FAIL
  18. regression

    regression New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wonder if the non touch screen vs touch screen have different graphics? I don't see any real difference in the fonts of the street names on my Touch Pro.
  19. Kingfish

    Kingfish Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    No issues with the Saga either. The street names are inside the width of the road and in a normal font.
  20. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    i gotta take some screen shots of this...its so goofy

Share This Page