Gmail help

Discussion in 'Windows Phone Software' started by Groovey252, Jan 21, 2007.

  1. uscoastiee

    uscoastiee New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gmail Stopped Sending My Emails???

    I went through the set up of Gmail back in April when I got my Q. Everything has been working great, until recently. No when I Send/Receive all of my new emails are downloaded like they should be, but the mail in my Outbox is not sent. So now my Outbox has a few emails in it that won't send. I have a SprintPCS Email account set up on my Q that Sends and Receives fine. The only change I have made to my phone was when I installed PDANet on 7/17/07. My mail problem has been going on since 8/6/07.

    The error message I get is:
    "The following errors occurred while sending and receiving mail:
    An error occurred while downloading messages. Verify that you have network coverage and that your account information is correct and then try again."

    I have updated my PCS Vision many times, hoping that would work, but it hasn't.

    I have not made any changes to the account options. I have three Gmail accounts set up on my Q and all of them give the same error.

    Anyone have any ideas of what it could be? Did Gmail change something?

    Here are the account options on my Q:
    Your name: Adam X
    Email address: xxx@gmail.com
    User Name: recent:xxx@gmail.com
    Password: xxxxxx
    Domain: Blank
    Save Password: Checked
    Server type: POP3
    Account Name: Adam X
    Network: The Internet
    Incoming Server: pop.gmail.com:995
    SSL: Not Checked
    Outgoing Server: smtp.gmail.com:465
    Requires Auth: Checked
    Download: Past three days, first 1000 bytes
    Check: Every hour

    My other two accounts match this set up exactly.

    Thanks for any help you can offer in advance!!
    Adam
  2. adamzapple

    adamzapple New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not to hijack this thread but ... how come no one's using the Gmail java app? It smokes the standard email setup that everyone's complaining about.

    AdamZapple
  3. uscoastiee

    uscoastiee New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    How about some more info of what you use? Where did you download the Java software from?

    Give some more info if you think everyone else should use it!

    Thanks
  4. adamzapple

    adamzapple New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    How to Install the Gmail Java App

    It's been posted a number of times. Here are step-by-step instructions. Thanks to ominx on QUsers Forum.

    1.) Download IBM Java from: http://files.filefront.com//;6090608;;/

    2.) Copy the entire J9 folder to the root of your Q keeping directory structure

    3.) In the J9\MIDP20 folder create a subfolder called apps

    4.) Download the Gmail jar file from: http://gmail.com/app/v1.0.0/en/gmail-g.jar

    5.) Download Gmail jad from: http://gmail.com/app/v1.0.0/en/gm-Generic-Advanced_MIDP2.jad

    6.) Rename the jad file gmail.jad for simplicity

    7.) Copy both gmail.jad & gmail-g.jar to \J9\MIDP20\apps

    8.) Run emulator.exe found in \J9\MIDP20\bin

    9.) Select install and in the drop down box select "/"

    10.) In the URL box type \J9\MIDP20\apps\gmail.jad

    11.) Follow prompts until you see the application has been installed successfully

    12.) Create a text file for a direct shortcut to the Gmail java app

    13.) Use the following line for the shortcut (keep it a single line):
    197#"\J9\MIDP20\bin\j9midp20.exe" -classpath "\J9\MIDP20\apps\gmail-g.jar" "-Xbootclasspath:\J9\MIDP20\lib\jclMidp20\jclMidp20.jxe" javax.microedition.lcdui.AppManager "\J9\MIDP20\apps\gmail.jad"

    14.) Save the text file as Gmail.lnk

    15.) Copy Gmail.lnk to \Windows\Start Menu

    16.) To fix fonts download http://mysite.verizon.net/res00tqh/fontPaths.jar

    17.) Copy fontPaths.jar to \J9\MIDP20\lib\jclMidp20\ext

    18.) Optional: Create a speed dial shortcut for one click access from your homescreen

    Good luck!

    Adam
  5. fareal

    fareal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you noticed when you compose a new message with the gmail java app and search for contacts it will not find many of your contacts?
  6. adamzapple

    adamzapple New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just tested and that's not my experience. It found all my contacts. I will say though that the contacts are the Achilles heel of the gmail app. I have all my contacts on the Q synced with Outlook on my PC but they're not available to me in the gmail app. It's not a huge problem for me since on the Q I'm mostly responding to others' emails rather than composing new ones.

    Adam
  7. fareal

    fareal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which version of the Gmail app are you using (Menu - Goto - Help). I'm using..

    Version: 1.1.1 Web
    Platform: Generic-Advanced_MIDP2

    When I compose a new message, and select the To field, it takes me to the Search field. Below the search field it actually displays all of my contacts, but that list is useless because Gmail stores all email contacts which makes the list too long to actually scroll through. So the Search field is necessary, but it doesn't work right for me. For example.. I have a contact named Accessorygeeks.com with an email address of sales@accessorygeeks.com. If I type "A" or even "AC" in the search field that contact does not display in the results. If I type "sales" or any part of that word, it still does not display. BUT if I change that contact to Sales@accessorygeeks.com with an upper case "S", then the search field will find it. Annoying since the majority of my gmail contacts do not begin with an upper case letter.
  8. adamzapple

    adamzapple New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine says:

    Version: 1.0.0b
    Platform: Generic-Advanced_MIDP2

    I wonder if I should upgrade?

    My experience with the search field is the same as yours. It's useless. Instead, I have to scroll through the entire contact list, click the checkbox and and then done. It's a bit of a chore.
  9. pimpoifical

    pimpoifical New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    is there any way i can download the gmail app from my phone with out going thru a computer?
  10. jasonw357

    jasonw357 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    No Luck

    I've tried everything and it keeps going back to the password like I have a wrong password. I log onto it everyday from a computer, but it won't let me on my Q phone.
  11. sashe

    sashe New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    The cows came home but no one replied.
    I've just got the same issue. No outgoing gmail!
    H-E-L-PUnsure



  12. troutseth

    troutseth Guest

    SSL should be checked.
  13. mal54808

    mal54808 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0

    sorry but i've been trying to get my gmail to work, i've done all of that and still it takes me back to enter my password in and everything i dont know whats worng:embarassed: could u help me out please
  14. troutseth

    troutseth Guest


    have you logged on to gmail via the web and set it up for POP service? You can find it under settings -- POP and forwarding (or something like that). You have to turn it on from Google's site as well
  15. dougeetx

    dougeetx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't get the option for settings when I hit messaging in my Q. What am I doing wrong?
  16. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    if this is about what troutseth said, he is talking about the settings in your Gmail account on-line, not on the Q.
  17. mal54808

    mal54808 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks a bunch.:smile: i'll try that
  18. brown705

    brown705 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Adam, THANK YOU for this post. I just did all of this, and it works. I then found elsewhere that the Gmail App has been updated to 1.5.0, so I thought I'd let everyone else know to change the download paths to the following:

    Step 4 - JAR file: http://gmail.com/app/v1.5.0/L1/gmail-g.jar

    Step 5 - JAD file: http://gmail.com/app/gmail.jad?make=Generic&model=Advanced MIDP2&ver=v1.5.0

    Step 6 - Rename: SKIP this, since the download already has the JAD file named "gmail.jad".

    Michael
  19. buckguin

    buckguin New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im hoping someone can help me get my gmail account working. I had it working the way I wanted but had to restore my phone and lost it. I followed the instructions to get it and it doesnt work right. When it sends/recieves, it brings me up to the incoming server screen to type in my password even tho i had save password clicked. It wont bring my mail up. I have no idea whats wrong with it cause I followed every instruction at the beginning of this thread.
  20. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    and you have the "recent:" in front of it ?... as i posted somewhere, at a random point in time it did not work on my Q, and it took me 3 delete and re-create accounts before i got it working again... still dunno why i did work the 3rd time but it has worked ever since.

Share This Page