FTP Access on Q?

Discussion in 'Motorola Q' started by ryant35, Jan 18, 2008.

  1. ryant35

    ryant35 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    FTP Access on Q?

    Is is possible to access an FTP site from the Q?

    I tried to access mine with IE but instead of a password promp I got an error that said incorrect password.

    I there another way that I have missed? Maybe a 3rd party program?

    Thanks.
  2. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    yep... Resco has a add-on ftp client, and Orneta has one also... both NOT free. i myself use Resco's, but have also used Orneta's and they both work fine.
  3. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    total commander has an FTP client built in
    and it is free
  4. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    crap, i keep forgetting about that one.. thx.
  5. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    yea that programs seems to have an awful lot of options for a free app...never used the FTP client though....

    should put it on a to do list:tounge:
  6. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    so it seems yea....

    and from what i remember (which should not be something you should depend on :} you said that before that you were going to try it..
  7. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    yes it is quite possible that i said that
    and as you know...im slow with that stuff:tounge:
  8. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea.. i know, i might just have to try it myself.. maybe this time i will like TC :}
  9. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    im able to connect but cant see anything...:frown:
  10. ryant35

    ryant35 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    I downloaded Total Command but I cannot connect. The program is asking for info I don't know about my FTP site.

    And I defiantly won't know this info about the FTP site that's not mine, that I need to use.
  11. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    i dont think there is any way around logging in without knowing information TO log on to with....

    so your kind of stuck!
  12. ryant35

    ryant35 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0

    Ok I got it, I just can't see any of my files.
  13. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    what are you logging in to ?
  14. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    my website...
    i have it setup through CUTEFTP on my PC and works just fine...just not with TC yet....

    did you get it to work?
  15. ryant35

    ryant35 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0

    It's the ftp site for a reprographics company. I upload AutoCAD files and email with printing instructions.

    I logged on, and now I can see the folders but I cannot figure out how to upload (copy & paste?) files.
  16. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Scott: i have not yet tried with TC..

    potQ.
  17. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    oh ok....
    keep me posted! :laugh2:
  18. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    just installed TC, connected to my personal ftp, and to one from work... and both work (but still i like Resco better :}
  19. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    so you are able to see the files on the server?
  20. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    yup.. sure am, not yet figured out (and now i remember why i did not really like TC: long ass menus) how to d/l-u/l..

Share This Page