Free Q unlock REALLY!!!

Discussion in 'Motorola Q' started by mtrainier2003, Jun 10, 2007.

  1. mtrainier2003

    mtrainier2003 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Free Q unlock REALLY!!!

    :2cool:I found this on another page. It works on Verizon as well!!! Best of all it is really free.



    Howto: Application Unlock Motorola Q for Telus

    Well, I did it. (It was damn about time ;))

    Special thanks goes to
    spddemn at qusers.com.

    Here is the easy steps:

    1. Download and install Device Security Manager Powertoy for Windows Mobile 5.0 from Microsoft. This is a nifty utility to show what security policy is in effect. If you connect your Q to your PC, you'll see two tier security policy is in effect.

    2. Download and copy secpolicies.cab to your Q (using ActiveSync, Total Commander, or just browse this site via Pocket Internet Explorer). I got this from Telus support, after following a post on qusers.com.

    3. Run and install it. This allows you to install third party SSL Root Certs.

    4. If you run Device Security Manager Powertoy for Windows Mobile 5.0 now (it is listed in Start - Programs as "Security Configuration Manager", you'll see now you are using One Tier Prompt. Select Security Off and click Provision. It will install tool.cab to your device and then provision the settings.

    If you want to do it the hard way, you can also change registry keys:

    [hkey_local_machine\security\policies\policies'>
    "0000101b"=dword:00000001
    "00001017"=dword:00000090
    "00001007"=dword:00000040
    "00001005"=dword:00000028
    "00001001"=dword:00000001

    to the same effect. Interestingly, on many forums, value for 1017 is set as 090 (hex, originally 080), where as the above tool sets it to 10. Also 1005 is set to DE, where many articles I read sets it to 28. The rest is the same. But right after step 3, I was able to manually edit these keys via Resco Regedit or PHM Regedit (HTC Signed copy)

    Yippie, no more restrictions...
  2. mtrainier2003

    mtrainier2003 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey!!

    Anyone else have success yet?
  3. devious_101

    devious_101 New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have application unlocked my phone with the registry method. Worked fine.
  4. neutral

    neutral New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think Sprint application locks their phones. If they do, I haven't had to install any unsigned software then Wink
  5. devious_101

    devious_101 New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think it was smart tweaker that required me to app unlock.
  6. Phreaker47

    Phreaker47 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    aeconfig did it for me, but that's for Verizon. I guess different version need different mods.

Share This Page