Free GPS Software for the Q9C?

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9c' started by computerguynd, Dec 5, 2007.

  1. computerguynd

    computerguynd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Free GPS Software for the Q9C?

    anybody know of any free GPS software to use on the phone utililizing the GPS components of the phone?:blink:
  2. billindelicato

    billindelicato New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    google maps 2.0 is free and useful
  3. computerguynd

    computerguynd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    i mean something that can lead you from your current location to another location using the GPS built into the phone
  4. Breeze Loo

    Breeze Loo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Googlemaps (and windows live search) does do that, they just don't speak out directions.
  5. KillerQ

    KillerQ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    On my Old Samsung a920, I used Garmin and Telenav without any external hardware -- I seem to remember a post on here that claims that you now need an external bluetooth dongle to utilize Garmin or Telenav on the Q9c - which seems silly, because it's built in -- that's the whole point....


    Matt!
  6. forcelite

    forcelite New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe the poster was referring to the first gen Q without the GPS imbeded that needed the dongle.

    Force
  7. KillerQ

    KillerQ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    0

    Right Right,

    But I was referring to a thread re: the Q9c - and some GPS apps needed an external dongle still. I wanted to see if Garmin and/or Telenav worked on teh Q9c by just getting the software...

    Later,

    Matt!
  8. forcelite

    forcelite New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool, I bet telenav will just because the sprint GPS software is basically the telenav software with a sprint branding and is powered by telenav.
  9. adma

    adma New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. johnwashere

    johnwashere New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow that amaze gps looks awesome! Thats really cool its free. I wonder when it will really come out... Cant wait!
  11. Dragonheart8588

    Dragonheart8588 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, is the gps software that they let you download for free now doesn't work on Q9c?
  12. adma

    adma New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    It was supposed to be out by now. The developers keep saying they are REALLY close
  13. johnwashere

    johnwashere New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think it has a monthly fee. AmazeGPS has no monthly free (just requires a data plan)
  14. Dragonheart8588

    Dragonheart8588 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then what is the thing they letting you download for free right now? Isn't that the amazegps software for the phone q9c?
  15. johnwashere

    johnwashere New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    The one they let you download now is for Java phones like the razor. The Q run windows mobile, and there windows mobile version is not out yet.
  16. Dragonheart8588

    Dragonheart8588 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh ok. Thanks. I'm sorry, I'm just a newbie.
  17. Dragonheart8588

    Dragonheart8588 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, what if I install JBED(java). Would that work on q9c? Thanks.
  18. forcelite

    forcelite New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Technically the wm6 should be able to run java. not sure about the practicality though. Java can run on a blackberry and even less powerfull phones.

    Force
  19. rainmakerrc

    rainmakerrc New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,612
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought about that too and actually tried it over the weekend. When you're downloading the program, you have to select your phone - of course, the Q9c is not listed. I just chose a random Motorola phone to see what would happen. It downloaded the .jad/.jar file (don't remember which it was), and JBed proceeded to attempt to install it. An error message came up, and I was not able to complete the installation. Don't know if choosing a different phone model before downloading would make a difference - I guess we'll just have to wait until they release the proper version for the Q9c.
  20. ds535

    ds535 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page