Differences in 6.1 from 6.0 ???? Bugs ???? Post 'em here

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9h' started by mexiken, Jul 30, 2008.

  1. RedScare

    RedScare New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not your fault. I knew the dangers before I got started. I did my best to research and see if BB Connect would work, but to no avail.

    As is, I haven't given up hope yet. If I can duct-tape something together for the time-being, I will do so. Knowing I can go back to 6.0 if I have to makes this a lot less scary.
  2. Roadie

    Roadie New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Problems so far:

    I can't Activesync tasks - it gives me an error.

    I used to have both of my MSN accounts (one through XPress Mail, and the other - Windows Live maybe?) and now I can only have one, which sucks big.
  3. mexiken

    mexiken New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Activesync: Delete and repartner up.

    Xpress Mail: You're on your own buddy, sorry.
  4. Roadie

    Roadie New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, still not happening.

    So, any mail programs that you know of that I can replace it with?
  5. mexiken

    mexiken New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,725
    Likes Received:
    0
    You might have to wait til they're official 6.1 compatible.
  6. jstplnj

    jstplnj New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Exchange Issue

    Sorry for the post if this is a known issue, having issue connecting to exchange, thoughts?
  7. Lifyre

    Lifyre New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    My only complaint so far is that Right Menu doesn't work anymore, at least with the very minimal tweaking I've done. However it looks like I can setup the sliders to do pretty much everything that Right Menu did for me.
  8. Roadie

    Roadie New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bummer. I guess I'll just deal right now with only having access to my work e-mail. Actually, I functioned like that for a while on 6.0 until I added my personal with XPress.

    Why can't I get my e-mail through Outlook on the Q9?
  9. JPOnion

    JPOnion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anybody done any remote desktop connections with 6.1? I installed it as soon as it arrived in the mail so I couldn't test with 6.0, and I only have 1 PC so it's hard to test to see if I have my settings working (I've quadruple checked everything, though). Both zaDesktopSP and WM6 Remote Desktop wont let me connect...if it's because of the phone I'll be happy because there's a chance it'll still work, but if it's the phone I'll be pissed I spent so long working on getting it up.
  10. mexiken

    mexiken New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,725
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can verify that Jeyo Mobile Companion DOES work with 6.1. Pulled all my stuff in, no problem. So anybody can use that app as well to back up SMS, Call History, Contacts, etc, and still retrieve them once you've upgraded to 6.1. Enjoy folks.
  11. reckoningday

    reckoningday New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    The unlocking of the phone has definitely improved. I guess I just needed to power it down.
  12. kareljack

    kareljack Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077
    Likes Received:
    15
    Seven push email is giving me problems. It keeps saying that my gmail login is incorrect.
    Looks like I have to find a new free push mail service or go back to Imap.
  13. RJNJC

    RJNJC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use MobiPush for my push mail. Got it set up and running same night at the 6.1 and is running fine.

    MobiSync @ [ mobiPush - Free Mobile eMail Delivery ]

    :2cool: R J
  14. mbrown15

    mbrown15 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Battery Life

    What are the impressions regarding battery life with the new 6.1 ROM?

    It seems to be a little poorer (drain faster) for me. This may be because I have the weather program seeking updates every hour and G-mail pulling ever 15 minutes.

    I am interested in others' experience/observations so far.
  15. paladin

    paladin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, has anyone successfully installed windows live search and got the home screen plugin working? I really liked the clean integration of hotmail and live messenger. Thanks!
  16. kareljack

    kareljack Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077
    Likes Received:
    15
    I tried to signup with Mobi but I keep getting Error 301 no credit left.
  17. p0lye

    p0lye New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    so far 6.1 seems to be working pretty good for me. i'm up & running with dashwire, operamini, qik, etc. seven is acting a bit strange by "randomly" popping up and checking for new invites...but, i have run across one program that doesn't want to work at all...TCPMP. it just states that there was an unexpected error and the program was closing. anyone else seeing this? tried to remove all program files & reinstall to no avail.

    any thoughts???
  18. RJNJC

    RJNJC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try doing the manual set up using the ActiveSync application.

    Instructions linked on mobiPush @ mobiPush - Mobile Device Setup
    (you'll need to be logged into you mobiPush account to go directly to the page, otherwise the link above will take you to their home/landing page.)

    :2cool: R J
  19. iamthekiller

    iamthekiller New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    has anyone tried to use skype on 6.1? it will install fine, but crash when i try to run it. it worked fine on 6.0
  20. tendomentis

    tendomentis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a known issue with WM 6.1. Skype does NOT work with smartphones using WM 6.1. Someone on the XDA forums got a hold of a beta build of Skype that "sorta" works on WM 6.1 for Pocket PC's, but nothing yet for smartphones.

    We just have to wait.

Share This Page