damn pc's :}

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by rudeboy, Feb 27, 2008.

  1. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    to all IT'ers here.. lets say i HAD a pc named "user", and it is now "user1", would that cause the pc to mis-authenticate for email ? (which is collected OUTSIDE of the domain on a regular host/mail-host ?)

    i would think no because, this laptop is NOT in the domain and i still collect mail from that same mail-server.

    i have removed the pc in question and re-joined the domain.. no dice.

    tia.
  2. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaargh...

    (had to vent)

    hence it still doesn't work...

    :wacko:


  3. cheri

    cheri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    11,615
    Likes Received:
    2
    i dont do IT but Im here for support. lol

    Lots a help that is eh?
  4. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    well, at least somebody listens :}

    logged in as admin.. created the email account for the admin, same error so it must be the machine.

    it's been a long time since i have been so f'ing frustrated :]
  5. cheri

    cheri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    11,615
    Likes Received:
    2
    Seriously, understand the frustration levels, different situations same feeling. Go take a walk and come back to it. Plus I sent you an email that may make you crack smile looks like you need one.

    Good luck on your quest to fix this POS CPU.

    I have faith this will work out somehow.
  6. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    might take a walk and kick some stuff on the warehouse :} did not yet receive your email.. i am however playing the Pogues as loud as i can which helps somewhat :}
  7. cheri

    cheri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    11,615
    Likes Received:
    2
    crap ill send it again. Try some ac/dc like you shook me all night long lol. that helps too.
  8. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    unless you sent it to hotmail, which i did not check today due to well you know what :}
  9. Geekster

    Geekster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4,952
    Likes Received:
    0
    Throwing some things at you & maybe something will click...
    Are all the protocals installed, enabled?

    DNS?
    Client For Microsoft Networks?
    TCP/IP?
    Netbios (not always needed)

    Un-install protocals and re-install (might need OS disk)
    Do you use passwords? Did someone change it without you knowing?
    Are you getting any error messages at all or is the request just going out into space?

    Found this but may not apply:

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/813514

    I'll keep looking & see what I can find .....
    (Not working today so I have time to google and hunt)

    While you were out kicking boxes and smashing bugs...I found this:
    Create a new account and test connections? ....

    http://www.simplehelp.net/2006/09/12/how-to-set-up-outlook-2003-for-email/
  10. cheri

    cheri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    11,615
    Likes Received:
    2
    that is so nice of you Geekster.

    I am of not help with this so nice to have someone who knows what they are doing chime in.

    I am glad ur off today! I bet ur too lol
  11. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    thx Geek...

    something is "blocking" between the pc and the server.. when i look in "Active Directory Users and Computers" i see users in the working accounts, but not in the "issue" computer..

    working pc: screen shot
    not working pc: screen shot

    no idea how this went wrong... nor how to fix it :}
  12. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Firewall maybe? Definately deserving of some box kicking...
  13. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    firewall disabled on both pc and server LAN side...
  14. Geekster

    Geekster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4,952
    Likes Received:
    0
    You have deep issues... let me check something out
    Had this once a long time ago...
    Hope I wrote it down....
  15. Geekster

    Geekster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4,952
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure windows firewall is turned off...
    Create a new user in control panel > users
    (per my night bosses suggestion)

    then I found this....(But man, this was a LONG time ago)

    Group Policy Refresh Utility: \windows\system32\gpupdate.exe
    Refresh group policies and settings.

    To open

    Command Prompt gpupdate (not available in the Home editions)

    Usage

    gpupdate [/target] [/force] [/wait] [/logoff] [/boot] [/sync]



    Description

    Type gpupdate at the command prompt to refresh Group Policy settings. The Group Policy Refresh Utility accepts the following options:



    /target:computer or /target:user

    Refresh only user or only computer policy settings; by default, both are refreshed.



    /force

    Reapply all policy settings; by default, only policy settings that have changed since the last refresh are applied.



    /wait: value

    Wait a specified number of seconds for policy processing to finish before being returned to the command prompt. The default is 600 seconds; specify 0 (zero) to not wait at all or 1 (one) to wait indefinitely.



    /logoff

    Log off the current user after the Group Policy settings have been refreshed.



    /boot

    Restart Windows after the Group Policy settings have been refreshed.



    /sync

    Cause the next foreground policy application (occurring at computer startup and user logon) to be done synchronously. If /sync is specified, /force and /wait parameters will be ignored.
  16. cheri

    cheri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    11,615
    Likes Received:
    2
    damn Geekster...goodthing u keep notes!
  17. Geekster

    Geekster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4,952
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have to b/c I can't remember everything. Everyday stuff ppl bring in is easy, see it all the time. But the "once in awhiles" you have to write down. I keep a log on my computer cataloged, dated, key coded, cross referenced, problem, etc. It's the only way I can keep up with it.
    WinXp is a good OS but it does get "bit rot" a lot. Little pieces of code just "float" away! That's why system restore is there I think. LOL

    @ RB...you can also create a new user under Computer Management & look in the Local Security Policy to see if anything has changed in there.
  18. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks again Geek... all to no avail though.
  19. Geekster

    Geekster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4,952
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any red flags under "Event Viewer" ?
    I'll do some more searches tonight. Or maybe someone will read this & when they stop laughing chime in with a simple solution.
    Sorry I'm not more help.
    Ok-on with the hunt.
  20. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    i created one of my personal email addresses on that pc and it sends/receives without any issues... guess i will be on the phone with the hosting co. tomorrow, wanna go home... play with Max and not think.

    thanks.

Share This Page