damn pc's :}

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by rudeboy, Feb 27, 2008.

  1. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    damn pc's :}

    so i am configuring a pc like i did a 1000x before... the pc is on/in the domain, all good.. trying to poll mail from the same servers other pc's in the domain do, and no dice. it's like there is no connection how fast it concludes the mail server does not respond..... this is aggravating the i'm_not_sure_what out of me.

    messed around last night for an hour and a half... .and mentally preparing to go at it again, ideas welcome :}


    (my name is rudeboy, and i endorse this message :}
  2. Der Alta

    Der Alta New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,742
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you check the nut holding the seat in place?

    But seriously, is the network card configured correctly? I battled with a CD burner issue a few months back with my old computer for about a week, only to find that the wire connection to the MoBo was slightly loose and connecting randomly. Gave me fits.

    But then again, I've never claimed to be a PC expert.
  3. MattB

    MattB New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you sure you have the authentication set up the same as the others for the mail?
  4. Bramsy

    Bramsy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    0

    hahahahahaha. sorry to interrupt but i have never heard that before :geek:
  5. mike250rs

    mike250rs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    14,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    you entered in the correct mail server name/address?
  6. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    i had little time today to mess with it... i retyped the server name countless times... i suspect it may have to do with the user/pc name on the domain, but on the flipside i doubt if that makes a difference..

    new day, fresh look tomorrow.

    potQ.
  7. mike250rs

    mike250rs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    14,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    doule check the authentication/rights on domain controler for pc.

    been a few years setting up network stuffs
  8. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    thx mike... will try later (i hope)... thing is the user is here everyday and i need some time to get his "old" pc out of the domain and the new one in, at this point all i can think about is that the pc/user name is different on the domain.. which perhaps does not make a difference since i poll mail from there on my laptop and i am not on the domain to begin with..
  9. Eugene

    Eugene New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    0
    You mean your having a windows problem not a pc problem. I suggest upgrading to an Open source OS. But if thats not a problem, remove from the domain, delete the domain object and re-join, I'm thinking sid issue from re-imaging or re-installing.
  10. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    (yes, i am at work).... redid a second pc (just now, the one with the damn Reanimator crap on it..) and guess what, the exact same issue.

    what is going on here.............. i am about to lose it :]
  11. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you press the any key? :)
    Perhaps the easy button?
    I'll look at it more when have time to think.
  12. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    i do have a easy button at work but i think it is a scam.... in the meantime i went home, i am clueless to what the hell is going on....

    i am frustrated with myself that i can't figure this out.

    potQ.
  13. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    At this point it seems like it has to be something ludicrously simple. If you spend enough time looking for the difficult solutions you'll often overlook the simplest one.
  14. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    agreed.... often the case.

    potQ.
  15. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    so many hours later and i am still upset that i don't know what the issue is...
  16. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just for grins, have you tried pinging the server from the PCs in question?
  17. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    yup... and get replies, plus i can access it since the .pst file is on it.
  18. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    monday morning... not a happy camper starting the day/week with this issue.

    i can not ping the (outside) mail servers, which on the working pc's doesn't work either.
  19. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    So apparently the problem has adjusted to make you life fun.
    This is more interesting than "breakdown bingo" (it's a training game that the sound tech at west point plays)
  20. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    called the host and as expected i am not suppose to be able to ping their mail servers.... compared some things that i thought about over the weekend, none resolve the issue.

Share This Page