Custom alarm tones

Discussion in 'Future Motorola Q Smartphones' started by tron, Dec 18, 2007.

  1. tron

    tron New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Custom alarm tones

    I found this forum very helpful in allowing me to any mp3 as a ringtone and I was wondering if anyone had a idea on how to get any mp3 to be a alarm clock tone. The way that I was able to make any mp3 a ringtone was through a registry editor and is there a way to do the same thing for the alarm clock. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you in advance.
  2. Der Alta

    Der Alta New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,742
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it's easily possible already. I have a first Gen Q with an MP3 ringtone. I didn't have to use a registry edit to accomplish it either.

    Start > Settings > Sounds > Alarm Clock

    Make sure you've updated your Media Library, as it won't find it otherwise.
  3. tron

    tron New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried that and no successful results. Is there a special folder that I need to put the file in or a special format as well. Ive got the q9h if that makes any difference too.
  4. davekeegan

    davekeegan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    sounds directory

    Put it in the Application Data > sounds directory - any mp3, wav, etc
    charline likes this.
  5. Joneyee

    Joneyee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup - if you just put it in the My Documents/My Ringtones then it will only be for use as a ringtone.

    Good practice - put all of your sounds in the Applications Data/Sounds Directory
  6. QRichardQ

    QRichardQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I put sound files in the root directory of my storage card. They will work from there, too, and I can back them up by simply copying the card to my PC.

    I put all my software CAB files and software installs there too for the same reason. If the phone is damaged, move the card to a new phone and it's as if you have your old phone, except for your home screen, but I back up that directory to the card also. Lose the phone and you can use the card backup on your PC to load a new card for the replacement phone.
  7. charline

    charline New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Even if this thread was started a long time ago: Thank you for the answer!!
    i've been unhappy with the limited alarm sound settings for a while now and this is just such a simple fix! it's great!

Share This Page