Commentary;

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9n' started by doctorq2u, Feb 11, 2009.

  1. kareljack

    kareljack Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077
    Likes Received:
    15
    IN BEFORE DA LOCK!!! ......
    .....
    no??
    damn.
  2. Hormazd

    Hormazd New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    So is this really a World phone? I am not so sure. Can someone confirm that you can take any GSM sim and insert it and it will work. I took my brothers ATT sim and it responded that it was an unrecognized SIM. Then I took the VZW GSM SIM from my wife's Verizon World Edition Blackberry and it recognized it. So it may only support the VZW sim.
  3. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    I have mine working on ATT. You have to unlock it.
  4. doctorq2u

    doctorq2u New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    0

    u gonna tell us how
  5. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    *warning*

    This was my phone's unlock code. Yours could be different. I'm assuming this is like other phones that if you fail to enter code 3 times the phone will lock you out. Rendering it useless. In normal circumstances you would have to call your carrier to unlock it for you. But since this phone doesn't exist, I don't think your carrier will help you. My advice, contact the person you got the phone from and see if they can give you the unlock code.


    *you've been warned so don't blame me if you brick your phone*

    With phone off, stick GSM sim card in (not VZW).
    Turn on phone.
    Prompted for unlock code.
    I entered 12345678
  6. MOTO MANIAC

    MOTO MANIAC New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^ you WILL brick it for sure. contact the buyer for the code. if you brick it or need a code contact me.

    and it will work with any sim,i used my t-mobile,cingular,at&t,vodaphone,and some china sims i had from when i visited tanjin.
  7. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    what about south korea...they have some advanced CDMA network...
    a sim wont work but will the standard CDMA mode work?
  8. Aixelsyd

    Aixelsyd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^^^ I don't think it will work there as if I'm not mistaken they use a WCDMA network. I'm not positive on that tho.
  9. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    right WCDMA
    i didnt think it would work but i was hoping i could get away with it (as i am planning a trip there in the near future)
  10. Aixelsyd

    Aixelsyd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think the Saga is the only one that has WCDMA running on them for VZW. Not sure about the Storm being it is a world phone also.
  11. lil_sunshine

    lil_sunshine New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0

    The Saga is the same phone plus a touch screen minus the finger print reader. If this phone had been release on Verizon, they could have taken out the domestic GSM bands and locked down the GPS. So, I think the non-release has more to do with how Verizon feels about the Motorola Q than how Verizon feels about controlling their phones.

    The members of this site love the Q, but it caused a lot of frustation for many of it's buyers (mainly due to the memory problems caused by suggest a word bug).

    The sad part is that the hardware upgrades that came with this Q probably fixed these bugs. Unfortunately, it was too late.
  12. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    the saga was released on verizon....
  13. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think she was referring back to the Napoleon not being released and what VZW could have done with it.
  14. lil_sunshine

    lil_sunshine New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's exactly right. I guess that's what I get for commenting so late.
  15. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    No problem. Most of the thread was an expression of paranoia anyhow. <G>

Share This Page