Changing the words 'Home Service'

Discussion in 'Q Home Screens and Wallpapers' started by .alicia., May 28, 2007.

  1. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    i believe Double.D did...(i believe he was post #6)
  2. GEPTRONIXDJS

    GEPTRONIXDJS New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    where do i find this info its not in my registry to edit.....please help
  3. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    use this...i posted above
    find the xml file you want to edit that is in the \application data\home folder and give it a shot
  4. Dustinco

    Dustinco New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    i did this but it still says home service. do i edit the home screen that im using or is there a "main" one I edit? For example.... I edited the CARBONFIZZ home screen XML file, do i edit a generic one or the CARBONFIZZ one? (I edited the carbonfizz.xml but it didnt work) PLEASE HELP!!! BTW, you guys have been so much help in making me have the coolest Q ever!!! THANKS, REP BOOSTS FOR ALL THAT HELPED!!! (thanks n99hockey!!!)
  5. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    nah you just have to do it for the homescreen that you want....

    edit note: make sure that you reload your homescreen after your done editing it!!!
  6. Dustinco

    Dustinco New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks, but it still isnt working. let me see if i can copy what i see in the xml and maybe you can tell me what to change!!! OK, I think this is where i need to edit, i'm gonna high light the two places that I "think" i may need to change and you can tell me if it is right if you know.

    <!-- Date/Time/Carrier Plugin -->
    <plugin clsid="{E09043DF-510E-4841-B652-388316977A7A}" name="carrier" height="18">
    <background b-border-width="0">
    </background>
    <label bgcolor="transparent" halign="left" x="120" y="0" w="320" font-size="16">
    <text><carrier/></text>
    </label>
    <clock>
    <time font-weight="bold" fgcolor="FFFFFF" font-size="16" valign="top" halign="right" y="0" x="-24" w="320" />
    <date font-weight="normal" font-size="16" valign="top" halign="left" mode="short" y="0" x="15" w="320" />
    </clock>
    </plugin>

    ANY THOUGHTS?????
  7. gmanvbva

    gmanvbva New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did this and it worked fine.

    You have to ensure you are editing the homescreen xml file that you have active.

    In my case this was facadeblack.home.xml
  8. Dustinco

    Dustinco New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, i am editing the one i am using, in this case, carbonfiberfizz.xml, but nothing. should i change both of my highlighted items, or just one of them? thanks for the response!!!!
  9. Dustinco

    Dustinco New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Got It Working, Sorry For The Confusion. Had To Edit Both Of The Items I Had Highlighted Above!!! Thanks Guys/gals!!!!
  10. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    glad you got it!!!
  11. Dustinco

    Dustinco New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Hockey!!!!!!!
  12. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    yea man no problem!
  13. GEPTRONIXDJS

    GEPTRONIXDJS New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0

    mine does not have opereator names after ril...now what
    thanks by the way
  14. jefffree

    jefffree New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Copied the orig .xml file over to the edit pad, and made my modifications. When I went to copy the modified file back to the Q, I got a pop-up denying access.

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks - Jeff
  15. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    did you copy the text out of the xml file and then tried to put it back...and was this done from the Q? (cuz you should do that)

    make sure you copy the xml file from the Q to your desktop and use notepad and then move it back...i have never gotten an access denied message while doing anything with homescreens
  16. GEPTRONIXDJS

    GEPTRONIXDJS New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0

    i have to be a real dumb ass because i edited my xml file to change the name from home service to what i wanted to change it to and move it back into my home folder and rebooted my phone and it still says home service....somebody please help im a real dumb ass....not really but i cant figure this part of it out....sorry
  17. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    did you reload your homescreen after you changed it? because if you just copy the xml file back and dont reload it wont change anything...
    if you did and it still didnt work post your xml code and we can take alook at it
  18. GEPTRONIXDJS

    GEPTRONIXDJS New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    it was reloaded and i even rebooted my phone and still nothing...told you i was a dumb ass lol
  19. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    lol that doesnt make you a dumb ass...lol

    can you post your code?
  20. GEPTRONIXDJS

    GEPTRONIXDJS New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok stupid me again...how do i post it for you to see

Share This Page